Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/13/2020 10:10:56

Sponsor 743
July 12
Ogilvie Raceway,
Ogilvie, MN
Sanction: World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series - $8,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 13, 10:55 pm)
Madden grabs another WoO win in Minnesota
  1. Chris Madden
  2. Brandon Sheppard
  3. Chad Simpson
  4. Rick Eckert
  5. Shane Clanton
  6. Tyler Erb
  7. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  8. Devin Moran
  9. Eric Wells
  10. Morgan Bagley
  11. Dustin Strand
  12. Rodney Sanders
  13. Kyle Bronson
  14. Chase Junghans
  15. Chub Frank
  16. Mike Marlar
  17. Lance Matthees
  18. Chad Mahder
  19. Joey Coulter
  20. Don Shaw
  21. Cole Schill
  22. Pat Doar
  23. Justin Duty
  24. Jimmy Mars
presented by
Tony Radzwon/speedshopnorth.smugmug.com
Winner Chris Madden flanked by runner-up Brandon Sheppard (left) and third-place finisher Chad Simpson (right).
What won the race: Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., took the lead from race-long leader Brandon Sheppard on lap 36 and led the final four laps at Ogilvie Raceway to pick up an $8,000 World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series victory. Madden crossed the finish line 1.502 seconds ahead of Sheppard to follow up his Saturday victory at Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minn.
Key notes: The race was slowed by a single caution on lap 20. ... The victory was Madden's second straight WoO victory, his third overall this season, and his 12th career series victory. ... The event continues the tour's upper Midwest swing with series action continuing Thursday at Hibbing and Friday at River Cities. ... Jimmy Mars hit an infield tire barrier running second in the first heat and took a single lap in the feature.
Winner's sponsors: Madden’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Crowder Trucking, Century Plastics, Davis Diesel Service, Millwood Plumbing, Cushman Paint and Body, Stroble Mini Storage and Petroff Towing.
Points chase: After Ogilvie: 1. Brandon Sheppard (3,148); 2 Chris Madden (2,944); 3. Tyler Erb (2,944); 4. Shane Clanton (2,902); 5. Devin Moran (2,890); 6. Rick Eckert (2,884); 7. Eric Wells (2,850); 8. Chub Frank (2,828); 9. Frank Heckenast Jr. (2,762); 10. Morgan Bagley (2,716); 11. Joey Coulter (2,600).
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Chris Madden
Time: 14.883 seconds
Polesitter: Brandon Sheppard
Heat race winners: Chris Madden, Chad Simpson, Brandon Sheppard
Consolation race winners: Joey Coulter
Next series race: July 13, Hibbing Raceway (Hibbing, MN) $8,000
Editor's note: Corrects points with Rick Eckert in sixth.
From staff and series reports

OGILVIE, Minn. (July 12) — The state of Minnesota has a lot of nicknames. Among them, the Land of 10,000 Lakes and the Gopher State are two of the most popular. Minnesota is also known as The Bread and Butter State, likely with much less popularity. Unless you’re Chris Madden that is. For Madden, Minnesota is where his World of Outlaws bread has been getting buttered lately.

Four days after recording his first-ever series win in the state, Madden, of Gray Court, S.C., made more Minnesota memories with a win at Ogilvie Raceway. Madden passed race-long leader Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., with four laps remaining and went on to win by 1.502 seconds Wednesday night. He earned $8,000 for the victory.

Sheppard, who paced the field from the drop of the green, settled for second, while Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, finished third. A pair of series champions — Rick Eckert of York, Pa., and Shane Clanton of Zebulon, Ga. — completed the top five.

“We’ve has some speed in our car all through the year, we just never could put everything together,” Madden said. “We’ve had some bad luck, broke some drive shafts, (had) a couple of engine failures. But other than that, we’ve been pretty good … just hadn’t been able to finish it.”

The fourth-starting Madden finished with a flourish on Wednesday. While Sheppard rolled up to the top of the track and blasted off the cushion at the start, Simpson, Clanton and Madden battled for the second position. Simpson slipped back to fifth in the first 10 laps, while Clanton moved forward one spot into second. Madden dropped Clanton  back to third on lap 15 and began his pursuit of Sheppard.

When the race’s only caution waved for debris on the backstretch on lap 20, Sheppard led Madden, Clanton, Eckert and Simpson. Madden was within .843 of a second off Sheppard’s rear deck when the caution came out. Tyler Erb, Frank Heckenast Jr., Devin Moran, Eric Wells and Dustin Strand rounded out the top 10 at the halfway mark.

“We had a pretty good race car. I just got into the wall there about halfway through the race,” Sheppard said. “I think that’s what that debris was for, was off my car. Once we lost the spoiler, we got a little bit loose. I don’t think we had the right tires on either, but we’ll take it and move on to tomorrow night.

“Congrats to Chris. He did a really good job. I don’t know, we might have been able to make it tougher on him there at the end if I hadn’t had the spoiler knocked off, but he did a really good job and he definitely had the car to beat at the end of the race.”

Sheppard still led after the caution, edging away by 1.5 seconds with just eight laps remaining. But Madden started cutting chunks off the advantage and when Sheppard jumped the cushion in turn one with four laps remaining, Madden was there to pounce. Madden drove by and pulled away, leading the final three circuits.

“I can’t thank my guys enough that works on this thing hard to make sure nothing falls off,” Madden said. “We’ve got some tough guys to race against. I love racing with that Brandon (Sheppard). He’s a hell of a wheelman. That kid’s got a big future ahead of him.”

Like Madden, Simpson made a late-race charge of his own. After falling back to fifth, he rallied back by Clanton and Eckert, who ran as high as third, to snare a podium finish.

“It’s a win for us and this team right now,” said Simpson. “We haven’t raced a whole lot this year. That’s why we’re up here now is to try to get some races in and try to get a feel of this car. That’s the best we’ve run in it here this year, or the best I’ve felt in it, so we’re headed in the right direction now.”

Notes: Madden earned his 12th career WoO feature win, moving him into a tie with Clint Smith of Senoia, Ga., and Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., for 12th on the tour’s all-time win list. … Madden most recently won at Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minn., on July 8. … Of the 21 finishers, 18 were still on the lead lap. … Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wis., made a single lap before retiring. … Justin Duty of Mulino, Ore., fell off the pace and pulled in on lap 16. … Pat Doar of New Richmond, Wis., parked his car on lap 17. ... Ricky Weiss of Headingley, Manitoba, scratched from the feature event.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Sheppard, Chad Simpson
Row 2: Clanton, Madden
Row 3: Eckert, Moran
Row 4: Erb, Strand
Row 5: Heckenast, Bagley
Row 6: Weiss, Mahder
Row 7 : Sanders, Wells
Row 8: Junghans, Mathees
Row 9: Bronson, Frank
Row 10: Coulter, Marlar
Row 11: Doar, Shaw
Row 12: Mars, Duty 

Sponsor 774
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728