Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/21/2023 01:54:33

Sponsor 743
July 8
Volusia Speedway Park,
Barberville, FL
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Powell Family Memorial) - $5,000
Information provided by: John O'Connell and track reports (last updated July 10, 8:58 am)
Fitzgerald captures $5,000 Powell Memorial
Powell Family Memorial
  1. Jason Fitzgerald
  2. Brandon DeWitt
  3. John Kellum
  4. Joe Kump
  5. Stanton Mills
  6. Bo Allen
  7. Russell Brown Jr.
  8. Travis Carroll
  9. Wayne O'Neal
  10. Kenny Monahan
  11. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  12. Rhett Carter
  13. Jimmy Waldrop
  14. Mark Steube
  15. Tyler Crowder
  16. Mark Whitener
  17. Devin Dixon
  18. Howard Stalls
  19. Lonnie Wagner
  20. Brandon Cameron
  21. Richard Ferry
  22. Blake Spencer
  23. Win Ingersoll
  24. Mikey Kopka
  25. Donnie Chappell
presented by
Dave Shank
Jason Fitzgerald climbs atop his car to celebrate at Volusia.
What won the race: Regaining the lead with fellow Middleburg, Fla., driver Mark Whitener's lap-42 departure, Jason Fitzgerald won Saturday night's Powell Family Memorial at Volusia Speedway Park for a $5,000 payday.
Key notes: Fitzgerald, a former crew chief for national touring racer Earl Pearson Jr., notched his richest victory since a $5,000 payday July 5, 2014, in Crate Late Model action at Swainsboro (Ga.) Speedway. ... Six drivers completed 67 laps on the half-mile track. ... The feature was slowed by eight cautions. ... Fast qualifier Kyle Chappell, who picked up $100 from Sparky's Restaurant, and Megan Meyer scratched from the feature. ... The 22nd annual Powell Family Memorial paid tribute to members of the Ocala Speedway-owning family who were killed in a 1995 plane crash in Gainesville, Fla. ... The race was formerly held at Ocala Speedway (now Bubba Raceway Park).
Winner's sponsors: Fitzgerald's Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Southway Crane & Rigging, Fitz Factory and Mills Concrete.
Points chase: Donnie Chappell of Jacksonville, Fla., leads Bo Allen and David Clegg in the track's Late Model points.
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Kyle Chappell
Time: 17.039 seconds
Heat race winners: Rhett Carter, Jason Fitzgerald, Richard Ferry
Editor's note: Corrects Russell Brown Jr. as seventh-place finisher.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information