Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/26/2024 01:17:42

Sponsor 743
July 1
Salina Highbanks Speedway,
Salina, OK
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Buddy's Home Furnishings Freedom Classic) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 2, 12:56 pm)
Highbanks withdrawal for Phillips? Cool $8,000
Buddy's Home Furnishings Freedom Classic
  1. Terry Phillips
  2. Payton Looney
  3. Jesse Stovall
  4. Joe Godsey
  5. Scott Crigler
  6. Rodney Sanders
  7. Jeff Roth
  8. Randy Timms
  9. J.C. Wyman
  10. Jeremy Grady
  11. Mason Oberkramer
  12. Jacob Magee
  13. Jason Redman
  14. Shannon Scott
  15. Tony Jackson Jr.
  16. Raymond Merrill
  17. Joe Gorby
  18. Nick Whitehead
  19. Brantlee Gotschall
  20. Robert King
  21. Will Vaught
  22. Brandon Mitchell
  23. Blonde Bomber Mitchell
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Terry Phillips heads to a $5,000 victory Saturday in Salina, Okla.
What won the race: Dominating from outside the front row, Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., completed an MLRA-MARS weekend sweep at Salina Highbanks Speedway with Saturday's $5,000 victory in the 40-lap finale. Phillips added the payday to the $3,000 he picked up in Friday's opener of the Buddy's Home Furnishing's Freedom Classic.
Quotable: "When you're running bad you have to work harder," Phillips said after his third straight MLRA victory. "You know, that's the deal, not get frustrated, just keep digging. You know, I'm not where we need to be, but we're getting a lot closer."
Key notes: MLRA's all-time winningest driver, Phillips notched his first three-race winning streak on the tour since June 2012. He's also the all-time winningest MARS driver. ... Payton Looney started on the pole and finished in second in his weekend debut of a new Rocket Chassis. ... Tony Jackson Jr. held the second spot on lap 23 when contact from Looney sent him around, knocking him out of contention. ... Will Vaught was running in the top five when he retired during a mid-race caution. ... Brantlee Gotschall's car got upside down in heat action; he wasn't injured and made repairs to start the main event.
On the move: Scott Crigler of Monticello, Ark., advanced from the 19th starting spot to finish fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Phillips drives a Black Diamond Chassis with an Andy Durham Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Andy's Frozen Custard, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Don Babb Motorsports, New Vision Graphics, Integra Shocks, Keyser Mfg., Peterson Fluid Systems, Performance Bodies and Midwest Sheet Metal.
Points chase: Entering the weekend finale, Jesse Stovall (MLRA) and Tony Jackson Jr. (MARS West) were tour points leaders.
Car count: 22
Polesitter: Payton Looney
Next series race: July 15, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $12,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information