Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/21/2023 03:35:16

Sponsor 743
July 1
Brownstown Speedway,
Brownstown, IN
Sanction: MARS Racing Series (Born Free 40) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 2, 11:51 am)
Gilpin nets first MARS victory, $5,000
Born Free 40
  1. Devin Gilpin
  2. Michael Chilton
  3. Tanner English
  4. Cody Mahoney
  5. Jason Jameson
  6. Terry English
  7. Steve Casebolt
  8. Marty O'Neal
  9. Jared Bailey
  10. Caleb Ashby
  11. Brandon Kinzer
  12. Austin Theiss
  13. John Baker
  14. Adam Bowman
  15. Alan Magner
  16. Chad Stapleton
  17. John Gill
  18. Jeff Wilson
  19. Clayton Miller
  20. Nathan Vawter
  21. Jeremy Hines
  22. Steve Godsey
presented by
Mark Schaefer/schaefer11.smugmug.com
Devin Gilpin celebrates his $5,000 victory at Brownstown Speedway.
What won the race: Surviving a trip over the turn-two banking, fourth-starting Devin Gilpin of Columbus, Ind., captured Brownstown Speedway's Born Free 40 for his first career MARS DIRTcar Series victory. The MARS East event paid $5,000-to-win.
Quotable: "There at the beginning I thought them guys was better, then my car just kept getting better through the middle, and I worked to the bottom ... " Gilpin said. "That's how (chassis builder) Scott (Bloomquist) wins these races here ... he'll roll the bottom and the middle, and that's what these cars are good at."
Key notes: A key moment came near halfway when third-running Steve Casebolt's slide job sent Gilpin over the turn-two banking. No yellow appeared and Gilpin dropped back to fifth. ... A few laps later, Casebolt twice went over the banking himself to fall from contention. ... Gilpin is the tour's eighth winner in 2017. ... Outside front-row starter Cody Mahoney led most of the way before Gilpin worked his way underneath with about 11 laps remaining. ... Michael Chilton was second followed by series points leader Tanner English as Mahoney slipped to fourth in the final laps.
On the move: Caleb Ashby of Cunningham, Tenn., earned hard charger honors with his 16th-to-10th run.
Winner's sponsors: Gilpin’s Sweet-Bloomquist Race Car is sponsored by Vallery Motorsports, Valley & T.J. Hancock Core Supplies, Bane Logging, Dasco Racing Supply, Penske Racing Shocks, GottaRace and KBC Graphix.
Points chase: Entering Brownstown, Tanner English (663 points) of Benton, Ky., led Caleb Ashby (553), Larry Greer (435), Nathan Vawter (427) and Terry English (393).
Car count: 26
Fast qualifier: Devin Gilpin
Time: 13.603 seconds
Polesitter: Steve Casebolt
Heat race winners: Devin Gilpin, Steve Casebolt, Cody Mahoney
Next series race: July 14, Clayhill Speedway (Atwood, TN) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Casebolt, Mahoney
Row 2: Stapleton, Gilpin
Row 3: Chilton, Ta. English
Row 4: Te. English, M. O'Neal
Row 5: Bowman, Jameson
Row 6: Wilson, Theiss
Row 7: Kinzer, Bailey
Row 8: Hines, Ashby
Row 9: S. Godsey, Baker
Row 10: Gill, Magner
Row 11: Vawter, Miller

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information