Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/27/2023 14:24:25

Sponsor 743
July 1
Senoia Raceway,
Senoia, GA
Sanction: Southern All Star Series (Michael Head Jr. Memorial) - $5,454
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 10, 8:42 pm)
Hometown winner denies Horton at Senoia
Michael Head Jr. Memorial
  1. Clint Smith
  2. Austin Horton
  3. Cody King
  4. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  5. Tristan Sealy
  6. Eric Hickerson
  7. Riley Hickman
  8. Michael Page
  9. Landon Bagby
  10. Dillon Tidmore
  11. Todd Morrow
  12. Casey Roberts
  13. Bubba Pollard
  14. Brad Skinner
  15. Ashton Winger
  16. Matt Perry
  17. Shane Fulcher
  18. Heath Hindman
  19. Dusty Carver
  20. Tod Darda
  21. Dalton Cook
  22. T.J. Reaid
  23. Jason Fitzgerald
  24. Kitt Sealy
presented by
Francis Hauke/pbase.com/22fstops
Clint Smith celebrates his first Southern All Star win since 2009.
What won the race: Four-time series champion and hometown driver Clint Smith overtook Austin Horton of Whitesburg, Ga., near the halfway point and held on to win the Southern All Star-sanctioned Michael Head Jr. Memorial at Senoia Raceway. The 54-lapper paid $5,454 to Smith, whose shop is just a mile from the track.
Quotable: “It’s go time on this kind of condition at all times,” Smith said of Senoia's fast, physical surface. “After I got out front and got a little bit of a lead, there was no way to get in (turn) one without just killing your race car. All this rain, these torrential downpours every day … hat’s off to (co-promoter and track-prep head) Doug Stevens just to give us a racetrack that we could race on tonight at all. And to finally get a big win here … I’ve always been no good in big shows, so glad to get it done tonight.”
Key notes: Smith's 13th career SAS victory was his first since July 18, 2009, at Cleveland (Tenn.) Speedway. The former World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series regular notched his fifth victory of 2017 at Senoia and was emotional about capturing the memorial race for Michael Head Jr., the late son of former SAS champion Mike Head of Ellenwood, Ga., whom Smith considers one of his racing heroes. ... Smith became the tour's eighth winner of 2017. ... Runner-up Horton, who received $154 from Wood Motorsports for setting fast time, recorded a career-best SAS finish. … Fourth-place finisher Ivedent Lloyd Jr. piloted a Big Frog Motorsports No. 58 entry. ... Michael Page won $250 in a dash sponsored by Five Star Hyundai and led the feature's early laps before being passed by Horton. He ultimately slowed on lap 31 but finished eighth. ... The annual Michael Head Jr. Memorial event was originally held at Alabama's Talladega Short Track.
Winner's sponsors: Smith's RaceTek-powered Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Southern Fibernet, Cliburn Tank Lines, Ernie D's Enterprises, JP Drilling, Arizona Sport Shirts, SAE Parts, RDI and CSR Aluminum Fabrication.
Points chase: Entering Senoia, Austin Horton (646 points) of Newnan, Ga., leads T.J. Reaid (584), Tristan Sealy (552), Eric Hickerson (518) and Bo Shirley (466).
Car count: 36
Fast qualifier: Austin Horton
Time: 13.885 seconds
Polesitter: Michael Page
Dash winner: Michael Page
Consolation race winners: Tristan Sealy, Cody King
Next series race: July 15, Magnolia Motor Speedway (Columbus, MS) $4,000
Editor's note: Corrects Shane Fulcher as 17th-place finisher.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information