Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/24/2024 07:51:51

Sponsor 743
June 3
Smoky Mountain Speedway,
Maryville, TN
Sanction: Iron-Man Racing Series - $5,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen and series reports (last updated June 4, 7:23 am)
Kerr survives eventful Smoky Mountain main
  1. Tommy Kerr
  2. Skip Arp
  3. Donald McIntosh
  4. Ricky Weiss
  5. Chris Combs
  6. Billy Ogle Jr.
  7. Dakotah Knuckles
  8. Bobby Giffin
  9. Carder Miller
  10. Gary McPherson
  11. Phil Helton
  12. Vic Hill
  13. Joey Standridge
  14. Mike Marlar
  15. Shanon Buckingham
  16. David Crabtree
  17. Austin Arnold
  18. Jeff Neubert
  19. Lamar Winkle
  20. Craig Greer
  21. Chad Ogle
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracing.net
Tommy Kerr waves to the crowd after his Iron-Man victory at Smoky Mountain.
What won the race: Inheriting the lead when polesitter Vic Hill suffered a mechanical failure and slammed the wall in turn one on the 34th lap of the 40-lap feature, sixth-starting Tommy Kerr paced the remaining distance for a $5,000 Schaeffer Oil Iron-Man Series victory at Smoky Mountain Speedway.
Key notes: Kerr notched his richest victory since 2009. ... He became the fifth winner in five 2017 Iron-Man races. ... Kerr's teammate, Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., finished third after starting ninth. ... The feature was slowed by six cautions. ... Craig Greer brought out yellows on the first and 13th laps ... On the lap-13 restart, multiple cars got jammed up and Shanon Buckingham ultimately went around. ... Ricky Weiss slowed on lap 17 with a flat tire while amongst the frontrunners. ... On lap 29, second-running Mike Marlar stopped and retired. ... The final yellow came on lap 34 for Hill, who held a commanding lead. ... Michael Courtney won the Sportman feature.
On the move: The winner started sixth; runner-up Skip Arp of Georgetown, Tenn., advanced from the eighth starting position.
Winner's sponsors: Kerr's Rocket Chassis is powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored by Blount Excavating, Massey Electric Company, Ole Ben Franklin Motors, Tennessee RV and Stowers CAT.
Points chase: Entering the event, Carder Miller (708 points) led the series standings over David Payne (576) and Ray Cook (524).
Car count: 22
Fast qualifier: Vic Hill
Time: 15.740 seconds
Polesitter: Vic Hill
Heat race winners: Donald McIntosh, Billy Ogle Jr.
Next series race: June 10, Ponderosa Speedway (Junction City, KY) $3,088
Editor's note: Corrects Vic Hill as fast qualifier.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information