Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/18/2024 07:11:54

Sponsor 743
June 2
Pepsi Lee County Speedway,
Donnellson, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 3, 9:16 am)
Simpson dominates MLRA event at Lee County
  1. Chris Simpson
  2. Chad Simpson
  3. Jordan Yaggy
  4. Brent Larson
  5. Jesse Stovall
  6. Bobby Pierce
  7. Tony Jackson Jr.
  8. Rodney Sanders
  9. Dave Eckrich
  10. Randy Timms
  11. Jason Feger
  12. Brantlee Gotschall
  13. Terry Phillips
  14. Rickey Frankel
  15. Justin Duty
  16. J.C. Wyman
  17. Spencer Diercks
  18. Raymond Merrill
  19. Matt Furman
  20. Jeremy Grady
  21. Kolby Vandenbergh
  22. Joe Gorby
  23. James Wilson
  24. Todd Frank
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Chris Simpson earned a $3,000 MLRA victory at Lee County Speedway Saturday.
What won the race: Polesitter Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, led all 40 laps on his way to a victory in the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Assocation event at Lee County Speedway. Simpson crossed the finished line a whopping 6.527 seconds ahead of his brother Chad Simpson.
Quotable: "The car felt good all night," said Simpson. "I figured as good as we've been, I felt like we could have started third, and I feel like we had a good enough car that we could have won the race. I had a very maneuverable car. It's awesome to win here in Iowa."
Key notes: The three-race MLRA weekend kicked off on Thursday at Scotland County Speedway in Memphis, Mo., where Chris Simpson was also the winner, before moving to Lee County in Donnellson, Iowa, Friday. The weekend wraps up Saturday at Randolph County Raceway in Moberly, Mo. … The victory was Simpson's third MLRA score of the season and the 11th of his career. ... Simpson's back-to-back wins came in a new Longhorn car he debuted one week earlier after destroying his workhorse machine in a wild series of flips on May 23 at I-80 Speedway. ... The third-place finish for Jordan Yaggy marks his best MLRA run ever.
On the move: Both Terry Phillips (19th to 13th) and J.C. Wyman (22nd to 16th) improved six spots.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Five Star Shop Service, Cheap Cars, Advanced Machine & Tool, Randy Davidson Trucking, IITI, Simpson Farms and Bill Bryant Trucking.
Points chase: Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., sits atop the MLRA points standings, just six points in front of Rodney Sanders. Defending series champion Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., is 20 points behind Jackson, while Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., is 40 behind the leader.
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Chris Simpson
Time: 16.019 seconds
Polesitter: Chris Simpson
Heat race winners: Chris Simpson, Chad Simpson, Jesse Stovall
Next series race: August 31, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $5,075
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Chris Simpson, Yaggy
Row 2: Chad Simpson. Larson
Row 3: Jackson, Pierce
Row 4: Stovall, Timms
Row 5: Sanders, Diercks
Row 6: Dave Eckrich, Furman
Row 7: Gotschall, Duty
Row 8: Feger, Grady
Row 9: Merrill, Frankel
Row 10: Phillips, Wilson
Row 11: Gorby, Wyman
Row 12: Frank, Vandenbergh

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information