Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/23/2024 11:51:43

Sponsor 743
June 1
Scotland County Speedway,
Memphis, MO
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $2,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 2, 10:27 am)
Simpson tops Stovall for Scotland victory
  1. Chris Simpson
  2. Jesse Stovall
  3. Tony Jackson Jr.
  4. Terry Phillips
  5. Rodney Sanders
  6. Jordan Yaggy
  7. J.C. Wyman
  8. Brent Larson
  9. Spencer Diercks
  10. Raymond Merrill
  11. Dave Eckrich
  12. Justin Duty
  13. Randy Timms
  14. Rickey Frankel
  15. Brantlee Gotschall
  16. Joe Gorby
  17. Sonny Findling
  18. Todd Frank
  19. Matt Furman
  20. Richard Weber
  21. Jeremy Grady
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Chris Simpson heads for a $2,000 MLRA victory at Scotland County.
What won the race: Taking the lead at the drop of the green, outside front row starter Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, led flag to flag in outrunning polesitter Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., for his second Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory of the season. The 25-lap victory at Scotland County Speedway was worth $2,000.
Quotable: "I seen Jesse (Stovall) miss the bottom and slide through the center," said Simpson. "I got a big run off the top. It's a good win for us. We needed it. We junked a car last Tuesday. To be able to come out here with a brand new car ... last week we kind of struggled, worked on it all day yesterday, put a different fuel cell in it and got it to where the other one was at. It feels just like the other one. Kudos to my guys for everything they do."
Key notes: Simpson scored his second MLRA victory of his 2017 campaign; his last came at Lee County Speedway on May 4. … One yellow slowed the race on lap twenty when Donnellson, Iowas driver Todd Frank went over turn three. ... The tour made its lone stop at Scotland County on the 2017 season. … The race marked the opening night of a three-race weekend. … Series action continues at Lee County on Friday and Randolph County Raceway on Saturday.
On the move: Eighteenth-starting Justin Duty was the Casey's General Store's Hard Charger of the Race after improving six spots to finished 12th.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Five Star Shop Service, Cheap Cars, Advanced Machine & Tool, Randy Davidson Trucking, IITI, Simpson Farms and Bill Bryant Trucking.
Points chase: Entering Thursday's event, Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., topped the series standings by 20 points over Jesse Stovall.
Car count: 21
Polesitter: Jesse Stovall
Heat race winners: Jesse Stovall, Tony Jackson Jr., Chris Simpson
Next series race: August 31, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $5,075
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information