Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/14/2024 20:42:58

Sponsor 743
May 29
Macon Speedway,
Macon, IL
Sanction: Midwest Big 10 Series (Lite Beer Twin 50s) - $1,500
Information provided by: Patrick Davis and track reports (last updated May 30, 8:36 am)
Shirley dominates Big 10 field at Macon
Lite Beer Twin 50s
  1. Brian Shirley
  2. Daryn Klein
  3. Rusty Griffaw
  4. Matt Shannon
  5. Alan Westling
  6. Brent McKinnon
  7. Jason Suhre
  8. Greg Kimmons
  9. Cody Maguire
  10. Adam Tischhauser
  11. Don Hammer
  12. Jose Parga
  13. Bobby Brandon
  14. Michael Kloos
presented by
Jim Jones/doublejphotos.smugmug.com
Brian Shirley picked up $1,500 for his 50-lap victory at Macon.
What won the race: Polesitter Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., made a surprise appearance on an off night from the World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series and picked up the victory at Macon Speedway in the Midwest Big 10 Series. The hub-hugging Shirley crossed the finish line 0.823 seconds ahead of runner-up Daryn Klein. The victory was worth $1,500.
Key notes: Outside front-row starter Rusty Griffaw led the first six laps before Shirley took command. ... The event was slowed by five caution flags, the last of which took place with six laps remaining. ... The victory was Shirley's first career victory with the Big 10 Series. ... He was the 2002 Late Model champion at Macon. ... The Big 10 series returns to Macon on June 22 and Aug. 26. ... Ken Schrader won the modified 50-lap feature.
Winner's sponsors: Shirley’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Arnie Ranta, Thomason Express, Cheap Cars, Kid’s Castle and Popejoy Inc.
Points chase: Rusty Griffaw moved into the Big 10 points lead over Michael Kloos, the race's first retiree.
Car count: 14
Fast qualifier: Don Hammer
Time: 10.920 seconds
Polesitter: Brian Shirley
Heat race winners: Brian Shirley, Rusty Griffaw
Next series race: July 22, Macon Speedway (Macon, IL) $1,500
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Shirley, Griffaw
Row 2: Kloos, Suhre
Row 3: Klein, Shannon
Row 4: Hammer, Tischauser
Row 5: Kimmons, Brandon
Row 6: Westling, Maguire
Row 7: McKinnon, Parga

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information