Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/23/2024 18:56:55

Sponsor 743
May 28
Eldora Speedway,
Rossburg, OH
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series (Johnny Appleseed Classic) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 29, 7:27 am)
Noonan wins Johnny Appleseed Classic at Eldora
Johnny Appleseed Classic
  1. Casey Noonan
  2. Rusty Schlenk
  3. Kent Robinson
  4. Jacob Hawkins
  5. Andrew Reaume
  6. Tyler Erb
  7. Nick Latham
  8. Jeff Babcock
  9. Jerry Bowersock
  10. Nick Hoffman
  11. Dustin Nobbe
  12. Jason Wagner
  13. Jon Henry
  14. Kody Evans
  15. Troy Worrick
  16. Bryant Dickinson
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Casey Noonan took the checkers Sunday at Eldora Speedway.
What won the race: Casey Noonan of Sylvania, Ohio, passed a faltering Nick Hoffman on a lap-24 restart and led the final two circuits of the 25-lap feature, topping Rusty Schlenk of McClure, Ohio, in a near photo finish as both the checkered flag and yellow flag waved. Noonan earned $2,000 for the Sunoco American Late Model Series victory in the Johnny Appleseed Classic at Eldora Speedway.
Quotable: "(Hoffman) was out there a ways. He would've had us if it wouldn't have been for the caution for sure," said Noonan. "We started coming along pretty good at the end on the bottom. I was pretty excited about the last few laps. I actually didn't know who won. I was looking at the scoreboard to see. That was right there; it was close. It was a great race."
Key notes: Nick Hoffman led the first 23 laps and appeared well on his way to victory, but a caution on lap 23 bunched the field. On the restart, Hoffman's right rear tire went flat. When he couldn't get up to speed he was passed by both Noonan and Schlenk. ... Hoffman enjoyed a lead of as much as seven seconds and nearly a half a lap as Noonan and Schlenk battled for second place behind him. ... Seven of the 16 starters finished on the lead lap. ... The feature was slowed for one caution coming on lap 23. ... The Johnny Appleseed Classic by Miller Lite is the oldest annual event on Eldora’s schedule. … The race originated at Mansfield (Ohio) Raceway in 1970 as a tribute to American nurseryman legend Johnny Appleseed. In 1988, Eldora founder Earl Baltes, who also owned Mansfield, moved the Classic to Eldora. … The 2016 race drew 27 cars. ... The race serves as a tune-up for June 8-10's Dirt Late Model Dream.
Winner's sponsors: Noonan's Barry Wright Race Car is sponsored by Performance Machining Racing Engines, NPM2 Motorsports, Jay Reynolds Builder, Banshee Graphics and Hoosier Racing Tire.
Car count: 16
Fast qualifier: Dustin Nobbe
Time: 15.359 seconds
Heat race winners: Nick Hoffman, Andrew Reaume
Next series race: June 17, Oakshade Raceway (Wauseon, OH) $5,300
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information