Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/23/2024 17:41:17

Sponsor 743
May 26
Boyd's Speedway,
Ringgold, GA
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals - $4,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 27, 10:11 am)
Third Spring Nat'ls win keeps Overton in command
  1. Brandon Overton
  2. Donald McIntosh
  3. Shanon Buckingham
  4. Ricky Weiss
  5. David Payne
  6. John Ownbey
  7. Vic Hill
  8. Jason Croft
  9. Michael Page
  10. Brandon Kinzer
  11. Will Roland
  12. Ryan King
  13. Kenny Collins
  14. Heath Hindman
  15. Dusty Carver
  16. Robby Moses
  17. J.T. Seawright
  18. Michael Chilton
  19. Austin Horton
  20. Billy Ogle Jr.
  21. Riley Hickman
  22. Jake Knowles
presented by
Brian McLeod
Brandon Overton waves to the Boyd's crowd in victory lane.
What won the race: Beating out fellow Schaeffer Oil Spring Nationals championship contender Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga., advanced from the sixth position to earn his third series victory of 2017. Overton, who secured a $4,000 payday, dominated the race's later stages, ultimately winning by 5.601 seconds over the fifth-starting McIntosh.
Quotable: "We weren't very good in the heat race and qualifying ... kinda dug ourselves in a hole," said Overton. "We all went in there and went to work, just all worked together and it all played out. The car was really good. That bottom had a mud ring. Everybody kept floating through that middle and that's really where our car's the best at. I just had to go where they wasn't."
Key notes: Overton won on the tour for the third time in five races; he's the only repeat winner the spring series has seen this season. ... The winner lapped up to eighth place in the 40-lap feature, which had 18 drivers running at the finish. ... Austin Horton and Billy Ogle Jr. retired after 18 laps. ... Riley Hickman and Jake Knowles were the first retirees with 10 laps scored complete. ... The Spring Nationals wrap up this weekend with a Saturday stop at Dixie Speedway and a Sunday finale at Rome Speedway.
On the move: David Payne of Murphy, N.C., started 11th and rounded out the top five.
Winner's sponsors: Overton’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Cornett Race Engine and sponsored by Outlaw Racing Southeast, Stone Land Clearing and Excavating, A.F. Stone Professional Medical Services, Mission Transport, CrossFit Overton, JRi Shocks and The Bailey Company.
Points chase: After Friday’s race at Boyd’s, Brandon Overton (1,338 points) holds a 10-point lead over Donald McIntosh (1,328) of Dawsonville, Ga. Michael Chilton (1,284), Shanon Buckingham (1,272) and Ricky Weiss (1,264) complete the top five with just two races remaining.
Car count: 37
Fast qualifier: Shanon Buckingham
Time: 14.921 seconds
Polesitter: Shanon Buckingham
Heat race winners: Donald McIntosh, Brandon Overton, John Ownbey, Ricky Weiss
Provisional starters: Michael Chilton, Billy Ogle Jr.
Next series race: May 27, Dixie Speedway (Woodstock, GA) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Buckingham, Kinzer
Row 2: Hill, Croft
Row 3: McIntosh, Overton
Row 4: Ownbey, Weiss
Row 5: Page, Hindman
Row 6: Payne, Hickman
Row 7: Moses, Horton
Row 8: Carver, Roland
Row 9: Collins, Seawright
Row 10: Knowles, King
Row 11: Chilton, Ogle

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information