Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/21/2024 00:18:19

Sponsor 743
May 23
I-80 Speedway,
Greenwood, NE
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (Go 50) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 25, 12:53 am)
Bloomquist tours I-80, nabs $10,000 Lucas win
Go 50
  1. Scott Bloomquist
  2. Mason Zeigler
  3. Earl Pearson Jr.
  4. Gregg Satterlee
  5. Tim McCreadie
  6. Josh Richards
  7. Darrell Lanigan
  8. Don O'Neal
  9. Steve Francis
  10. Dennis Erb Jr.
  11. Chase Junghans
  12. Boom Briggs
  13. Matt Buller
  14. Jimmy Owens
  15. J.C. Wyman
  16. Tad Pospisil
  17. Jake O'Neil
  18. Mike Collins
  19. Ben Schaller
  20. Mike Marlar
  21. John Duty
  22. Hudson O'Neal
  23. Chris Simpson
  24. Rodney Sanders
presented by
Heath Lawson/heathlawsonphotos.com
Scott Bloomquist extended his points lead with his fifth victory.
What won the race: Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., took the lead on lap 11 from race-long pacesetter Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky, and controlled the remainder of the distance to pick up a $10,000 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory in the Go 50 at I-80 Speedway.
Key notes: Series action continues this Thursday through Saturday with the 25th running of the Show-Me 100 at Lucas Oil Speedway. ... The inaugural Go 50 was the first of two visits to I-80 Speedway for the Lucas Oil Series this season. The tour returns on July 21-22 for the Silver Dollar Nationals, a $53,000-to-win extravaganza.
On the move: Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla., advanced from 16th to third; Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va., started 20th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Bloomquist’s Sweet-Bloomquist Race Car is by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Reece Monuments, Mark Martin Automotive, Crop Production Services, Dyna-Gro, Allstar Performance, Sorbera Chiropractic, Horton Oil, Base Race Fuels, Hawkeye Trucking, Crossfit Overton and Sweet Manufacturing.
Points chase: Lucas Oil standings after I-80: 1. Scott Bloomquist (3,345 points), 2. Tim McCreadie (3,200), 3. Josh Richards (3,135), 4. Don O’Neal (3,020), 5. Jimmy Owens (2,910), 6. Earl Pearson Jr. (2,905), 7. Darrell Lanigan (2,870), 8. Dennis Erb Jr. (2,730), 9. Steve Francis (2,585), 10. Gregg Satterlee (2,575), 11. Hudson O’Neal (2,380), 12. Boom Briggs (2,360).
Car count: 32
Fast qualifier: Tim McCreadie
Time: 16.477 seconds
Polesitter: Darrell Lanigan
Heat race winners: Darrell Lanigan, Jake O'Neil, Scott Bloomquist, Mason Zeigler
Consolation race winners: Chase Junghans, Dennis Erb Jr.
Next series race: May 25, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $6,000
Editor's note: Corrects points after I-80.
From series and staff reports

GREENWOOD, Neb. (May 23) — Scott Bloomquist has developed an affinity for I-80 Speedway.

The 53-year-old Hall of Famer from Mooresburg, Tenn., bolted to his third win in his last four starts at the 4/10-mile oval Tuesday, capturing the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned Go 50.

Starting second in the mid-week event contested on a demanding surface, Bloomquist overtook polesitter and race-long pacesetter Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., for the lead on lap 11 and never looked back. The defending Lucas Oil Series champion had to deal with five caution flags once in command but handled every restart with relative ease as he marched unchallenged to his third victory in the last five features on the national tour and his series-leading fifth checkered flag overall of 2017.

“The track was in great shape all night long,” said Bloomquist, whose won I-80’s rich Silver Dollar Nationals in 2014 and ’15. “They had a lot of rain this week … (the track) was fast. You had to have a good handling car out there tonight with those conditions.”

Bloomquist steered his Sweet-Bloomquist car across the finish line a comfortable 2.298 seconds in front of Chalk Hill, Pa.’s Mason Zeigler, who slid his XR1 Rocket machine past Lanigan for second place on a lap-12 restart and stayed there for the remainder of the distance.

Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla., made a strong advance forward from the 16th starting spot to finish third in the Dunn-Benson Racing Longhorn mount. Gregg Satterlee of Indiana, Pa., climbed from the 14th starting spot to the runner-up spot in 17 laps but slipped backward on a lap-21 restart and settled for a fourth-place finish in his XR1 Rocket while Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y., started and finished fifth in his Sweeteners Plus Longhorn but had to rally after nearly falling out of the top 10 during the race’s early laps.

Bloomquist diced with Lanigan during the race’s early laps, but after gaining command the Lucas Oil Series points leader dominated. He maintained an edge of around 2 seconds for most of the 21-lap stretch of green-flag racing that closed the race.

“There were several cautions and I was a bit concerned about the tires firing on the restarts,” said Bloomquist, who recorded his series-record 82nd career win. “Towards the end of the race the car was faster and I got a better handle on turn two … it had been causing the car to push a few times.”

Zeigler, 24, wasn’t able to make a serious bid for the lead but was very satisfied with his bridesmaid finish in his debut run at I-80.

“For our first time here we are very pleased,” said Zeigler, who recorded his second podium finish of the 2017 Lucas Oil season. “We came out to S&S here in Greenwood for work on our trailer and we decided we would stay and race. I am glad we did. It’s a fun race track to run on. We will be back in the future, no doubt about it.”

A red flag was displayed on lap seven when Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, flipped wildly on the backstretch. He was in the process of overtaking Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., who had gotten out of shape on the inside of the track, off the top of turn two when Simpson’s left-rear and O’Neal’s right-front made contact. Simpson’s car then bounced, barrel-rolled once and somersaulted end-over-end before coming to rest on all four wheels with its left-side door ripped off.

Both Simpson and the 16-year-old O’Neal, who hit the backstretch wall hard behind Simpson, escaped injury.

The race’s first caution flag flew on lap 12 when Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., suddenly stopped in turn four while running second. Marlar had followed Bloomquist past Lanigan and appeared primed to bid for the lead, but he was apparently struck in the helmet by a rock. An ambulance took him an emergency room where he was released after scans didn't find any problems.

Subsequent caution flags flew on lap 16 for Jake O’Neil of Tucson, Ariz., who slapped the turn-two wall; lap 21 for Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va., who slowed and pitted to clear his mud-packed right-rear wheel and swap out his mud-covered helmet but came back to finish sixth; lap 22 for the slowing car driven by Tad Pospisil of Norfolk, Neb.; and lap 29 for Jimmy Owens of Newport, who slowed while running sixth.

Correction: Updates details of Marlar's retirement.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Lanigan, Bloomquist
Row 2: O'Neil, Zeigler
Row 3: McCreadie, Owens
Row 4: H. O'Neal, Francis
Row 5: Schaller, Simpson
Row 6: Wyman, Marlar
Row 7: Collins, Satterlee
Row 8: Pospisil, Pearson
Row 9: Junghans, Erb
Row 10: Briggs, Richards
Row 11: Duty, Sanders
Row 12: D. O'Neal, Buller

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information