Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/01/2023 03:03:24

Sponsor 743
June 12
Southern Iowa Speedway,
Oskaloosa, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated June 13, 11:46 am)
Anderson leads every lap at Osky for $3,000 victory
  1. John Anderson
  2. Chris Simpson
  3. Chad Simpson
  4. Matt Furman
  5. Jason Utter
  6. Ryan Gustin
  7. Scott Lewis
  8. Dave Eckrich
  9. Jake Meier
  10. Jeremy Payne
  11. Austin Siebert
  12. Bill Koons
  13. Travis Dickes
  14. Skip Frey
  15. J.C. Wyman
  16. Spencer Diercks
  17. Jason Bodenhamer
  18. Bob Cullen
  19. Todd Frank
  20. Tommy Weder Jr.
  21. Andy Eckrich
  22. Denny Eckrich
  23. Terry Phillips
  24. Ray Guss Jr.
  25. Mark Dotson
presented by
Mike Reufer/ mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
John Anderson steers a new Rocket Chassis to victory.
What won the race: Outside front-row starter John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., led all the way at Southern Iowa Speedway, outrunning Iowa's potent Simpson brothers for a victory at the half-mile oval. Polesitter Chris Simpson of Oxford was second while MLRA points leader Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon was third.
Quotable: "It really performed well," Anderson said of his new Rocket Chassis. "We were fast tonight right off the truck. I got to drive Bill's car at the Show-Me (100) because I hurt an engine there. I knew right then that car had a pretty good feel to it, so he went and got the same type. It feels really good. I've been doubting myself, and wanting to even do it and different things like that. Hopefully we'll be up there some more this year."
Key notes: Terry Phillips, Denny Eckrich, Jason Bodenhamer and Mark Dotson were among drivers eliminated in a 10-car accident that drew a red flag early in the race. ... In the second heat, Ryan Gustin suffered engine failure while running second on the last lap. ... The tour is making its first visit to the half-mile oval. ... It's one of five scheduled events in Iowa for MLRA after single visits (to Adams County Speedway in Corning) in recent seasons. ... The race marks the first Super Late Model event at Oskaloosa since July 1, 2010. ... Drivers who paid $100 to register for promoter Mike Van Genderen's gambler's challenge can earn an extra $2,000 in winning purse. ... The race is co-sanctioned by the Corn Belt Clash.
Winner's sponsors: Anderson's Bill Koons-owned Rocket Chassis is powered by a Custom Race Engine and sponsored by Billy's Cafes, Marcorp Electric, Integra Shocks and Keyser Mfg.
Points chase: Entering the race, Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, had 818 points for a 58-point edge in MLRA points on Travis Dickes of Madison, Neb. Simpson moved into the Corn Belt Clash points lead over Brian Birkhofer, who didn't enter at Southern Iowa.
Car count: 28
Polesitter: Chris Simpson
Heat race winners: Chris Simpson, Andy Eckrich, John Anderson
Consolation race winners: Dave Eckrich
Next series race: June 14, Randolph County Raceway (Moberly, MO) $3,000
Editor's note: Fixes spelling of last-place finisher's name.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information