Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 06:05:19

Sponsor 743
May 5
Davenport Speedway,
Davenport, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 6, 7:31 am)
Pierce denies Simpson in MLRA's Davenport action
  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Chris Simpson
  3. Jimmy Mars
  4. Tony Jackson Jr.
  5. Jesse Stovall
  6. Jason Feger
  7. Tyler Bruening
  8. Rodney Sanders
  9. Terry Phillips
  10. Chad Simpson
  11. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  12. Jordan Yaggy
  13. Dave Eckrich
  14. Randy Timms
  15. Brent Larson
  16. Brantlee Gotschall
  17. Raymond Merrill
  18. J.C. Wyman
  19. Spencer Diercks
  20. Chase Junghans
  21. Justin Asplin
  22. Jeremy Grady
  23. Payton Looney
  24. Rob Toland
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., collected $3,000 for his MLRA victory at Davenport.
What won the race: Overtaking polesitter Tony Jackson Jr. in lapped traffic on the 15th of 40 laps and holding off Chris Simpson in the final stages, second-starting Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., claimed a $3,000 Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory at Davenport (Iowa) Speedway.
Quotable: "I got back to the bottom and felt like I wasn't going anywhere and they got stuck behind some lapped traffic," said Pierce. "My dad was motioning me up on the backstretch and I was like, 'I don't know; I don't want to lose anymore spots.' Then I decided, screw it, I'll go for it and it was up there. I caught 'em really fast and they were stuck behind lapped cars."
Key notes: Pierce, who notched his fifth victory of the season, won his second career MLRA feature; his previous series triumph came Oct. 8, 2016, at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo. ... Jackson led the first 14 circuits, but slipped back to fourth over the second half of the feature, with Jimmy Mars stealing a podium spot on the 37th lap. ... The feature's lone caution came with 28 laps scored complete. ... Friday's action was contested on Davenport's quarter-mile oval. ... The event marked the third MLRA visit to Davenport; Chris Simpson won both of the previous stops in 2014 and 2016. ... Hometown driver and reigning track champion Rob Toland was the feature's first retiree, completing seven laps. ... Davenport hosted the second of three Iowa events for the MLRA weekend; runner-up Chris Simpson won Thursday's visit to Lee County Speedway, while the tour will wrap up the weekend at Independence Motor Speedway on Saturday
On the move: Consolation race winner Rodney Sanders of Happy, Texas, improved nine positions after starting 17th; Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., started 21st and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: The winning Bob Pierce Race Car is powered by a Pro Power Racing Engine and sponsored by Allgayer Inc., Champion, Hoker Trucking, AR Bodies, Carnaghi Towing & Repair and Premier Waste Services.
Points chase: Entering MLRA's tripleheader weekend, Rodney Sanders topped the point standings.
Car count: 30
Polesitter: Tony Jackson Jr.
Heat race winners: Bobby Pierce, Jesse Stovall, Tony Jackson Jr., Tyler Bruening
Consolation race winners: Rodney Sanders
Next series race: May 6, Independence Motor Speedway (Independence, IA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Jackson, Pierce
Row 2: Stovall, Bruening
Row 3: Chris Simpson, Mars
Row 4: Feger, Looney
Row 5: Diercks, Chad Simpson
Row 6: Yaggy, Eckrich
Row 7: Thornton, Toland
Row 8: Larson, Grady
Row 9: Sanders, Junghans
Row 10: Timms, Merrill
Row 11: Phillips, Asplin
Row 12: Gotschall, Wyman

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information