Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/20/2024 19:36:36

Sponsor 743
April 22
Independence Motor Speedway,
Independence, IA
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series (Highway 20 Triple Crown)
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 23, 4:23 pm)
Gustin tops Mitchell for first Deery victory
Highway 20 Triple Crown
  1. Richie Gustin
  2. Justin Mitchell
  3. Travis Denning
  4. Luke Goedert
  5. Curt Martin
  6. Jake Neal
  7. Cayden Carter
  8. Jesse Sobbing
  9. Rick Wendling
  10. Joel Callahan
  11. Matt Ryan
  12. Jeremiah Hurst
  13. Luke Pestka
  14. Kyle Hinrichs
  15. Darrel DeFrance
  16. Jeff Tharp
  17. Jay Johnson
  18. Chad Holladay
  19. Paul Conrad
  20. Troy Hovey
  21. Rob Toland
  22. Jeff Aikey
  23. Curt Schroeder
  24. Tyler Bruening
presented by
Scott Swenson
Richie Gustin led the final 11 laps for his Independence victory.
What won the race: Second-starting Richie Gustin of Gilman, Iowa, overtook race-long leader Justin Mitchell with 11 laps remaining Saturday at Independence Motor Speedway and grabbed his first career Deery Brothers Summer Series victory. Gustin earned $2,000 in the second night of the Highway 20 Triple Crown.
Key notes: Gustin is the tour's 98th all-time winner; his sister Jenae finished fourth in the night's modified feature. ... Tyler Bruening of Decorah, Iowa, crossed the finish line third, but his rear end's axle housing failed postrace inspection. ... The feature ran caution-free. ... Runner-up and polesitter Justin Mitchell of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, was also looking for his first series victory. ... Luke Goedert picked up the $250 Sunoco Race Fuel drawing. ... The race at Independence was a makeup of a rainout the previous weekend. … Cash bonuses totaling $1,500 will be added to purses paid during the three-race Deery series weekend. Drivers who compete at all three events are eligible for bonuses based on points for the weekend.
Winner's sponsors: Gustin's MasterSbilt Race Car from Gheer'd Up Race Cars is sponsored by HALRbuilt, T&R Concrete, D.T. Marriott Enterprise and Wehrs Machine.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Tyler Bruening (76 points) of Decorah, Iowa, leads the series points race over Scott Fitzpatrick (68) of Cedar Falls, Iowa, and Darrel DeFrance (67) of Marshalltown, Iowa. Jeff Aikey (66) of Cedar Falls, Iowa, Jake Neal (66) of Omaha, Neb., and Jesse Sobbing, of Malvern, Iowa, are tied for fourth.
Car count: 35
Polesitter: Justin Mitchell
Heat race winners: Rick Wendling, Luke Goedert, Cayden Carter, Richie Gustin
Consolation race winners: Jeremiah Hurst, Jesse Sobbing
Provisional starters: Chad Holladay, Jeff Tharp
Next series race: April 23, Dubuque Speedway (Dubuque, IA) $2,000
Editor's note: Updates with Tyler Bruening's disqualification from third place.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information