Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/20/2024 21:33:39

Sponsor 743
April 20
Atomic Speedway,
Alma, OH
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (Buckeye Spring 50) - $10,000
Information provided by: Alli Collis (last updated April 21, 9:52 pm)
Lanigan nips teammate for last-lap Atomic win
Buckeye Spring 50
  1. Darrell Lanigan
  2. Don O'Neal
  3. Scott Bloomquist
  4. Devin Moran
  5. Tim McCreadie
  6. Jackie Boggs
  7. Earl Pearson Jr.
  8. Steve Casebolt
  9. Brandon Sheppard
  10. Gregg Satterlee
  11. Jimmy Owens
  12. Dennis Erb Jr.
  13. Timothy Culp
  14. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  15. Josh Richards
  16. Kody Evans
  17. Hudson O'Neal
  18. Boom Briggs
  19. Rod Conley
  20. Devin Gilpin
  21. R.J. Conley
  22. Steve Francis
  23. Bobby Pierce
  24. Mark Frazier
presented by
Roy Walker/rdwphotos.smugmug.com
Teammates Don O'Neal (5) and Darrell Lanigan (14) battle for the lead.
What won the race: Powering ahead of Clint Bowyer Racing teammate Don O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., in turn two on the final lap, sixth-starting Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., won the race to the checkers to capture a $10,000 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory at Atomic Speedway.
On the move: Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla., charged from the 21st starting position to run seventh. Steve Casebolt of Richmond, Ind., advanced from the 19th starting spot to finish eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Lanigan’s Clint Bowyer Racing Club 29 Race Car is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by iRacing.com, Peak Antifreeze and Coolant and Cometic Gaskets.
Points chase: After Atomic: 1. Scott Bloomquist (1,985 points); 2. Tim McCreadie (1,835); 3. Josh Richards (1,800); 4. Don O’Neal (1,680);5. Earl Pearson Jr. (1,665); 5. Jimmy Owens (1,665); 7. Darrell Lanigan (1,590); 8. Dennis Erb Jr. (1,585); 9. Steve Francis (1,480); 10. Hudson O’Neal (1,375); 11. Jonathan Davenport (1,370); 12. Boom Briggs (1,320); 13. Gregg Satterlee (1,295); 13. Timothy Culp (1,295); 15. Colton Flinner (1,135).
Car count: 34
Fast qualifier: Hudson O'Neal
Time: 13.281 seconds
Polesitter: Don O'Neal
Heat race winners: Don O'Neal, Brandon Sheppard, Devin Moran, Timothy Culp
Consolation race winners: Hudson O'Neal, Kody Evans
Provisional starters: Steve Francis, Boom Briggs
Next series race: April 21, Sharon Speedway (Hartford, OH) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
By Alli Collis
DirtonDirt.com staff writer

ALMA, Ohio (April 20) — Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., led a single lap of Thursday’s Buckeye Spring 50 at Atomic Speedway. But it was the only lap that counted.

Powering ahead of Clint Bowyer Racing teammate Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., in turn two on the 50th lap, the sixth-starting Lanigan won the race to the checkers, scoring his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory of the season for a $10,000 payday.

“We had a good car,” Lanigan said. “For the whole race there we were just kind of biding our time a little bit. We was really, really, really good through the middle there up off the bottom. Lapped traffic helped us out. It slowed that top down a little bit.

“Them guys could get up there and momentum line. It was really hard to pull up beside them down the straightaways. But there that last lap I got (O’Neal) kind of picked in behind that lapped car and snuck in between them and got the win.”

Winning the night’s first heat race to start on the pole of the 50-lapper, O’Neal shot to the lead at the drop of the green flag. As fellow front-row starter Devin Moran of Dresden, Ohio, began closing in on the race leader in lapped traffic, the first yellow flag waved on lap 21, giving O’Neal clean air at the front of the field.

With the race reaching the halfway mark, Lanigan joined the battle up front, challenging O’Neal with roughly a dozen laps remaining. Approaching lapped traffic, the pair raced side-by-side for several laps, with Lanigan pulling ahead in turn two on the final lap, charging ahead of O’Neal down the backstretch to notch his third career Lucas Oil Series victory.

“I was hoping for that lapped traffic to come,” Lanigan said. “It was perfect the way it lined up. It couldn’t have happened any better … It’s awesome to see two teammate cars running up front. I’m sure (car owner) Clint (Bowyer) and Casey are smiling back at the shop.”

O’Neal finished second, with ninth-starting series points leader Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., advancing six spots to finish third. Moran finished fourth, with 11th-starting Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y., rounding out the top five. The finish was a wild one with Lanigan rubbing past the lapped car of Rod Conley just before the checkers. Conley's car caught the frontstretch fence and then collided with Bloomquist at the flagstand, leaving both cars with significant damage.

While O’Neal was happy for his teammate, he said he wished he could have held on just one lap longer.

“I just wish I could do that last lap over again,” O’Neal said. “It is what it is. Congratulations to Darrell. We come up a little short, but who else would I rather outrun me than my teammate? It was an awesome job by everybody at Bowyer Dirt. We finally got both cars up front and we’re getting better.”

Closing in on the race leaders in the final stages, Bloomquist settled for third at the checkers, making contact with a lapped car as he crossed the finish line.

“I come off there and I didn’t even see him,” Bloomquist said. “I was right under (O’Neal) and then he swerved. I don’t know if he was parked or just barely moving, but it was a little too late to react. I tried to react in time, but at least we didn’t kill the car. We’ve got body panels and it doesn’t look like it knocked the front end out too much.

“I didn’t know how the traffic was going to work out. You just sit there and you get in position and just hope. You really don’t know what’s going to happen. We were just glad that we have enough to catch them. We just needed a longer race."

Notes: Lanigan notched his third career Lucas Oil Series victory, his first of the 2017 season. … Lanigan's previous victory came June 18, 2017, at Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, Miss. ... The 50-lapper was slowed by three cautions. … The first yellow flag waved on lap 21 when Steve Francis slowed in turn four. … Francis slowed on the backstretch to draw another caution on lap 28. … A yellow flag waved for Josh Richards on lap 31 when he slowed with a left-rear flat. … Lucas Oil competitors move to Sharon Speedway on Friday for the second of four weekend events.

Feature lineup

Row 1: D. O’Neal, Moran
Row 2: Sheppard, Culp
Row 3: R.J. Conley, Lanigan
Row 4: Satterlee, Boggs
Row 5: Bloomquist, Richards
Row 6: McCreadie, Carrier
Row 7: Erb, Rod Conley
Row 8: Owens, Pierce
Row 9: H. O’Neal, Evans
Row 10: Casebolt, Frazier
Row 11: Pearson, Gilipin
Row 12: Francis, Briggs
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information