Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/01/2023 10:14:54

Sponsor 743
June 10
Laurens County Speedway,
Laurens, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Laurens County Shrine Race) - $3,500
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated June 11, 12:00 pm)
Franklin tops Mitchell for $3,500 Clash victory
Laurens County Shrine Race
  1. Dennis Franklin
  2. Zack Mitchell
  3. Brandon Overton
  4. Ross Bailes
  5. Chris Madden
  6. Kennie Compton Jr.
  7. Johnny Pursley
  8. Dustin Mitchell
  9. Kenny Collins
  10. Kyle Pierce
  11. Jonathan Edwards
  12. David McCoy
  13. Mike Gault
  14. Scott Shirey
  15. Travis Leake
  16. Anthony Sanders
  17. Kevin Godwin
  18. Kevin Wilson
  19. Billy Lambert
  20. Doug Sanders
  21. Frank Coates
  22. Ricky Weeks
presented by
Zackery Kloosterman/ZSK Photography
Dennis Franklin heads to victory at Laurens County Speedway.
What won the race: Third-starting Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., took the lead from polesitter Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., on lap 18 of 35 and led the remainder of the distance to notch his 34th Carolina Clash series victory. He won by 1.911 seconds over Mitchell while Brandon Overton, Ross Bailes and Chris Madden rounded out the top five.
Key notes: Eight drivers finished on the lead lap. ... Ross Bailes, going for his third straight victory in the Shrine Race, finished fourth in driving an entry for John and Johnny Pursley. ... The 35-lap feature required three starts after cautions for Billy Lambert and Frankie Coates. ... Five-time series champion Ricky Weeks completed a single lap before retiring. ... Kevin Wilson climbed the turn-one wall in time trials. ... Proceeds from the event benefitted the Shriner's Children's Hospital system. ... The race's winner's list includes Buck Simmons, Freddy Smith and Ronnie Johnson.
On the move: Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., climbed from the eighth starting position to finish fifth; Scott Shirey of Swansea, N.C., earned Safety-Kleen Hard Charger honors with his 18th-to-14th run.
Winner's sponsors: Franklin's Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Automotive Racing Engine is sponsored by Advanced Electronic Services, AES Racing, C&D Properties and M&W Towing.
Points chase: After Laurens, Kennie Compton Jr. of Bland, Va., has 206 points to lead Kyle Pierce and Johnny Pursley, who have 185 points apiece. Jonathan Edwards of Charlotte, N.C., leads the Rookie of the Year chase.
Car count: 22
Fast qualifier: Zack Mitchell
Time: 14.563 seconds
Polesitter: Zack Mitchell
Next series race: June 21, Friendship Motor Speedway (Elkin, NC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information