Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/08/2023 13:40:13

Sponsor 743
April 15
Michaels Mercer Raceway,
Mercer, PA
Sanction: Zimmer's United Late Model Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 16, 9:02 am)
Hess bags $3,000 for Mercer's ULMS opener
  1. Dave Hess Jr.
  2. Alex Ferree
  3. Damian Bidwell
  4. Brent Rhebergen
  5. Greg Oakes
  6. Bob Dorman
  7. Ken Schaltenbrand
  8. Skip Lindemuth
  9. Doug Eck
  10. Brayton Santee
  11. Kyle Knapp
  12. John Weaver
  13. Bobby Rohrer
  14. Mike Pegher Jr.
  15. Keith Barbara
  16. Tommy Beck
  17. Charles Powell Jr.
  18. Matt Lux
  19. Billy Dickson
  20. Levi Sikora
  21. Russ King
presented by
What won the race: Dave Hess Jr. of Waterford, Pa., kicked off his defense of the Zimmer's United Late Model Series championship in fine fashion, pocketing a $3,000 check for winning the tour's 30-lap opener Saturday night at Mercer Raceway Park. Hess jumped out to a big lead early and then took advantage of timely cautions to cool his tires. After each caution he was abe to pull away again. He crossed the finish line 1.124 seconds ahead of Saxonburg, Pa.'s Alex Ferree.
Quotable: "We went soft on tires and the long runs were really difficult," said Hess. "We were slowing down, and they were coming, and that caution really helped. … we got that caution there, and we were able to cool the tires down a little bit and I was able to hold them off."
Key notes: Hess registered his seventh career ULMS victory, moving him into a tie for seventh on the tour's all-time win list. ... Brent Rhebergen was the race's first leader before he was overtaken by Hess. Rhebergen went on to finish fourth. ... Mike Pegher Jr.'s fast time in qualifying was a new track record. He was involved in an early feature skirmish that sent him to the rear. ... Coming off a $5,000 triumph the previous night at Stateline Speedway in Busti, N.Y., Max Blair won a heat and redrew the pole for the feature, but a blown engine forced him to load up and scratch from further action. ... Russell King challenged Hess early but his bid ended on lap 23 when tangled with the lapped car of Kyle Knapp in turn four. King’s car was towed from turn one, where it came to a halt, and he was disqualified for his display of anger toward Knapp during the caution period.
Winner's sponsors: Hess’s Suppa Racing Rayburn Race Car is sponsored by Patterson Overhead Door, Auto Value Car-Go Auto Part, Hess Garage and Genesis Racing Shocks.
Points chase: Hess assumed the tour's early points lead as he chases a second consecutive title.
Car count: 21
Fast qualifier: Mike Pegher Jr.
Time: 16.774 seconds
Heat race winners: Russ King, Max Blair, Mike Pegher Jr.
Next series race: June 1, Tyler County Speedway (Middlebourne, WV) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information