Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/20/2024 19:54:48

Sponsor 743
April 15
Lucas Oil Speedway,
Wheatland, MO
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Spring Nationals) - $3,500
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 16, 8:07 am)
Sanders outduels Timms for MLRA victory
Spring Nationals
  1. Rodney Sanders
  2. Randy Timms
  3. Jesse Stovall
  4. Will Vaught
  5. Chase Junghans
  6. Tony Jackson Jr.
  7. Terry Phillips
  8. Tim Manville
  9. Payton Looney
  10. Justin Reed
  11. Justin Asplin
  12. J.C. Wyman
  13. Scott Crigler
  14. Matt Buller
  15. Al Humphrey
  16. Raymond Merrill
  17. Cole Wells
  18. Joey Moriarty
  19. Brantlee Gotschall
  20. Jeremy Grady
  21. Scott Lewis
  22. Jim Shereck
  23. Josh Hughes
  24. Billy Moyer
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Rodney Sanders heads to victory at Lucas Oil Speedway.
What won the race: Rodney Sanders of Happy, Texas, outdueled Randy Timms of Wheatland, Okla., in a late-race, lead-swapping battle to capture Saturday night's 40-lap Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Association-sanctioned Spring Nationals finale at Lucas Oil Speedway. Sanders made his winning move to overtake Timms coming to the white flag and crossed the finish line with a slim margin of 0.366 of a second on Timms.
Quotable: "Randy had a hell of a car," said Sanders, an open-wheel modified ace who is focusing more on Dirt Late Model action this season. "The lapped traffic kind of got him boxed in. I kind of had to throw a Hail Mary there at the end. We were kind of searching for the moisture. I was a little bit too free, but if I could get to the top we were pretty good."
Key notes: Sanders notched his second Dirt Late Model win of 2017 (he previously won a MARS event March 3 in Clarksville, Tenn.) and third career MLRA victory. ... Sanders's $3,500 in earnings included an addition $500 in memory of Ron Jenkins, who built the original Wheatland Raceway. ... Sanders led the race's first five laps before being overtaken by Terry Phillips, whose brief stay in front lasted until Timms took over on lap 13. Timms went on to lead a race-high 26 laps. ... Timms's Western Flyer Trucking business is a sponsor on each of the top three cars; third-place Jesse Stovall is a teammate, in fact, as he and Timms drive Black Diamond race cars. ... Friday winner Will Vaught experienced transmission issues late, forcing him to drive with one hand while holding his transmission in high gear. He hung on to finish fourth. ... The race was red-flagged on lap 11 when Josh Hughes came to a stop in turn four with flames shooting from under his hood. He escaped unharmed.
On the move: Payton Looney of Republic, Mo., started 23rd and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Sanders's MB Customs machine is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by driveWFX.com, Swan Energy, Kimrad Transport, Wichita Tank Racing, D&G Contracting and Bergman Tax & Accounting.
Points chase: The series kicked off its 2017 season at Lucas Oil Speedway.
Car count: 34
Heat race winners: Randy Timms, Chase Junghans, Terry Phillips, Rodney Sanders
Consolation race winners: Tony Jackson Jr., Cole Wells
Next series race: May 4, Lee County Speedway (Donnellson, IA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Phillips, Sanders
Row 2: Timms, Junghans
Row 3: Vaught, Asplin
Row 4: Reed, Buller
Row 5: Stovall, Manville
Row 6: Hughes, Crigler
Row 7: Lewis, Merrill
Row 8: Moriarty, Shereck
Row 9: Jackson, Wells
Row 10: Grady, Moyer
Row 11: Wyman, Gotschall
Row 12: Looney, Humphrey

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information