Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/20/2024 21:10:07

Sponsor 743
April 8
Peoria Speedway,
Peoria, IL
Sanction: UMP DIRTcar special events (non-touring) (Chuck Hamilton Memorial) - $5,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated April 9, 5:39 pm)
Shirley takes Chuck Hamilton Memorial at Peoria
Chuck Hamilton Memorial
  1. Brian Shirley
  2. Bobby Pierce
  3. Jason Feger
  4. Ryan Unzicker
  5. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  6. Mike Spatola
  7. Rodney Sanders
  8. Brent Larson
  9. Scott Schmitt
  10. Nick Kurtz
  11. Jason Wagner
  12. William Kettering Jr.
  13. Todd Bennett
  14. Bob Gardner
  15. John Gardner Jr.
  16. Rich Bell
  17. Randy Manos Jr.
  18. Kevin Weaver
  19. Jay Sparks
presented by
Jeff Hall
Brian Shirley celebrates his second straight victory.
What won the race: Racing through heavy traffic, fourth-starting Brian Shirley of Chatham, lll., used a third-to-first slide job exiting turn two to grab the lead from Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill. Shirley then kept polesitter Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, lll., at bay to capture a $5,000 UMP DIRTcar victory in Saturday night's Chuck Hamilton Memorial at Peoria Speedway.
Quotable: "You're on a little bullring. One minute it can be to your advantage, one minute it can be to your disadvantage," Shirley said. "When it was good for us there, we took good, and when it got a little tight, you just don't get too excited and keep hitting your marks. Then we were able to have a caution and we brought it home from there."
Key notes: Shirley won his second straight start; he was also triumphant on April 2 in a World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series event at Farmer City (Ill.) Raceway. ... The Memorial race — held in honor of Chuck Hamilton, a former track owner who died in 2002 — kicked off Peoria's 2017 season. ... The track hosts two more $5,000-to-win UMP Late Model specials this season, one June 26 during the Summernationals and another on Sept. 30.
On the move: Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, lll., started seventh and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Shirley's Bob Cullen Racing Longhorn Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Arnie Ranta, Thomason Express, Kid's Castle Learning Center, Cheap Cars, Vallejo Inc., Skateland South, Popejoy Heating & Cooling, Jayco, and Kim's Autobody.
Points chase: Charlie Hess was Peoria's 2016 track champion.
Car count: 19
Fast qualifier: Frank Heckenast Jr.
Time: 11.460 seconds
Polesitter: Bobby Pierce
Heat race winners: Scott Schmitt, Brian Shirley
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information