Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/10/2023 14:36:28

Sponsor 743
April 8
West Liberty Raceway,
West Liberty, IA
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series - $2,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 11, 8:44 am)
Denny Eckrich captures West Liberty checkers
  1. Denny Eckrich
  2. Jeremiah Hurst
  3. Joel Callahan
  4. Tyler Bruening
  5. Jesse Sobbing
  6. Jeff Tharp
  7. Cayden Carter
  8. Justin Kay
  9. Jake Neal
  10. Scott Fitzpatrick
  11. Luke Goedert
  12. Curt Martin
  13. Jeff Aikey
  14. Chad Holladay
  15. John Emerson
  16. Matt Ryan
  17. Darrel DeFrance
  18. Andy Eckrich
  19. Lyle Klein
  20. Kyle Hinrichs
  21. Spencer Diercks
  22. Jay Johnson
  23. Kevin Kile
  24. Nick Marolf
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Denny Eckrich and his battle-scarred car made it to victory lane at West Liberty.
What won the race: Taking advantage when race leaders Jeremiah Hurst and Jesse Sobbing got together on a late restart, third-running Denny Eckrich of Tiffin, Iowa, shot into the lead on the high side and went on to lead the final seven laps in winning the $2,000 IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series race at West Liberty Raceway.
Quotable: “(Mike) helped me get into a Black Diamond (Chassis). He helped a lot of racers,” said Eckrich in victory lane, paying tribute to friend Mike Humphrey, the Black Diamond Chassis fabricator who was killed in a car accident earlier in the week in Louisiana. “Mike was a good guy and he died too soon. There are a lot of heavy hearts tonight.”
Key notes: Eckrich won West Liberty's Deery opener last season. ... Fourteen of the 24 starters finished the race. ... Eckrich was involved in a mid-race scrape with Jake Neal that left the driver's side door on the race winner's car hanging on precariously. ... Spencer Diercks of Davenport, Iowa, broke while leading on lap 15. ... West Liberty also hosts June 13 and Sept. 22-23 events during the 31st annual Deery campaign.
On the move: Joel Callahan of Dubuque, Iowa started 20th and improved 17 positions for a podium finish.
Winner's sponsors: Denny Eckrich's Black Diamond Chassis is sponsored by Precision Performance, Mac Tools and Fast City Arctic Cat.
Points chase: Entering the event, Nick Marolf (43 points) of Moscow, Iowa, leads Darrel DeFrance (41) of Marshalltown, Iowa, and Tyler Bruening (39) of Decorah, Iowa.
Car count: 30
Polesitter: Kyle Hinrichs
Heat race winners: Jeremiah Hurst, Scott Fitzpatrick, Kevin Kile, Jeff Aikey
Consolation race winners: Andy Eckrich, Chad Holladay
Next series race: April 14, Farley Speedway (Farley, IA) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information