Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/06/2023 01:01:25

Sponsor 743
April 1
Smoky Mountain Speedway,
Maryville, TN
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Spring Shootout) - $7,500
Information provided by: Track and team reports (last updated April 2, 11:20 am)
McDowell wins $7,500 at Smoky Mountain
Spring Shootout
  1. Dale McDowell
  2. Donald McIntosh
  3. Chris Ferguson
  4. Brandon Overton
  5. Michael Chilton
  6. Casey Roberts
  7. Tripp Gerrald
  8. Shanon Buckingham
  9. Brian Ligon
  10. Robby Moses
  11. Billy Ogle Jr.
  12. David Breazeale
  13. Bobby Giffin
  14. Tommy Kerr
  15. Ricky Weiss
  16. Mike Marlar
  17. Skip Arp
  18. Brad Skinner
  19. Tommy Taylor
  20. Skylar Marlar
  21. Mark Fields
  22. Mark Douglas
presented by
Chad Wells/wellsracingphotos.com
Dale McDowell celebrates his $7,500 victory at Smoky Mountain Speedway with Shane and Sara McDowell.
What won the race: Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., controlled the unsanctioned 50-lap Spring Shootout from start-to-finish, leading the entire distance to score a convincing $7,500 victory at Smoky Mountain Speedway. He was never seriously challenged en route to crossing the finish line well ahead of Dawsonville, Ga.'s Donald McIntosh.
Quotable: "We made good adjustments and I didn't hit anything tonight," said race winner Dale McDowell. "They've been giving me a hard time saying we was gonna run out of rivets 'cause we tore some stuff up. I really like this place. It was awesome fast. I know (the track crew) had their hands full after it rained."
Key notes: McDowell recorded his first win of the season and first driving for his new team fielded by his brother Shane and Shane's wife Sara. ... Michael Chilton reached second place with a lap-31 pass of Chris Ferguson, but McIntosh came on strong late to grab the runner-up spot with eight laps remaining. ... Brad Skinner of Spring Hill, Tenn., was involved in a rollover accident in turn two, while a caution simultaneously waved for Tommy Taylor on lap 10. Taylor slammed the inside retaining wall as he tried to exit the track to bring out the initial caution. Both drivers escaped injury. ... Mike Marlar was running second when he clipped Skinner's crashing car, eliminating Marlar with significant right-side damage to his XR1 Rocket. ... Drivers failing to make the A-main: David Crabtree, Austin Arnold, Ray McElhiney, Carder Miller, Kayne Hickman and Craig Greer. ... Smoky Mountain hosted its second Super Late Model special event of the season.
On the move: Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga., started 11th and finished fourth in the Dream Racing No. 116.
Winner's sponsors: McDowell’s Shane McDowell Racing-owned Sweet-Bloomquist car was powered by a Clements engine and carries sponsorship from Textron Off Road, Klotz Lubricants, Boyd’s Speedway, Will Kinzer Foundation for Autism Research, Cometic Gaskets and New Era Industrial.
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Mike Marlar
Time: 14.899 seconds
Polesitter: Dale McDowell
Heat race winners: Michael Chilton, Donald McIntosh
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: McDowell, M. Marlar
Row 2: Arp, Ferguson
Row 3: Chilton, McIntosh
Row 4: Buckingham, Roberts
Row 5: S. Marlar, Weiss
Row 6: Overton, Ligon
Row 7: Gerrald, Moses
Row 8: Ogle, Breazeale
Row 9: Kerr, Fields
Row 10: Douglas, Giffin
Row 11: Skinner, Taylor
Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information