Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 605
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/02/2020 00:21:36

Sponsor 743
March 25
Fayetteville Motor Speedway,
Fayetteville, NC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Ed Gibbons Memorial) - $5,000
Information provided by: Thomas Pope and track reports (last updated March 27, 8:25 am)
Zack Mitchell rules Gibbons Memorial, wins $5,000
Ed Gibbons Memorial
  1. Zack Mitchell
  2. G.R. Smith
  3. Brett Hamm
  4. Johnny Pursley
  5. Ben Watkins
  6. Jeff Smith
  7. Willie Milliken
  8. Michael Brown
  9. Austin Hubbard
  10. Justin Williams
  11. Anthony Sanders
  12. Dean Bowen
  13. Michael Rouse
  14. Jim Manka
  15. Scott Shirey
  16. David Yandle
  17. Doug Sanders
  18. Daniel Tucker
  19. Dustin Mitchell
  20. Mike Parker
  21. Tony Quarles
presented by
Joseph Swann
Zack Mitchell won his second career Carolina Clash feature.
What won the race: Polesitter Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., led all 40 laps of Fayetteville Motor Speedway's Ed Gibbons Memorial for his second career Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series victory. Mitchell earned a career-high $5,000 in taking the checkers 1.521 seconds ahead of G.R. Smith.
Quotable: "I knew lapped traffic was gonna be touchy, but I did what I had to do. I took my time. I know G.R. (Smith) got in there close to me one time, but it just played in our favor for once," said winner Zack Mitchell."
Key notes: Mitchell had to negotiate lapped traffic over the final handful of circuits, before a caution with three laps remaining gave him clear sailing to the finish. ... Mitchell's previous Carolina Clash victory came Sept. 1, 2013, at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C. ... Thirteen drivers completed 40 laps. ... The track announced 2018's race will pay $10,000-to-win. ... The Ed Gibbons Memorial honors of the Hall of Famer from South Carolina who died in 2009 from injuries sustained in a car wreck at the age of 46. ... Dustin Mitchell won the Limited Late Model feature. … The event kicked off the 49th season at Fayetteville Motor Speedway.
On the move: Jeff Smith of Dallas, N.C., started 12th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Mitchell's Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Eubanks Oil, Hamrick's of Gaffney, Marvin Lawson Motorsports, Mechanical Edge Inc., FK Rod Ends, Big A's Custom Graphics and Clary Hood Inc.
Points chase: Zack Mitchell moved into the Carolina Clash points lead.
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Zack Mitchell
Time: 16.296 seconds
Polesitter: Zack Mitchell
Consolation race winners: Anthony Sanders, Dean Bowen
Next series race: April 1, Friendship Motor Speedway (Elkin, NC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Z. Mitchell, Watkins
Row 2: G.R. Smith, Milliken
Row 3: Pursley, Hamm
Row 4: Rouse, D. Mitchell
Row 5: A. Sanders, Bowen
Row 6: D. Sanders, J. Smith
Row 7: Tucker, Hubbard
Row 8: Brown, Williams
Row 9: Parker, Manka
Row 10: Yandle, Quarles
Row 11: Shirey

Sponsor 985
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728