Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/13/2020 04:14:34

Sponsor 743
March 18
Cotton Bowl Speedway,
Paige, TX
Sanction: Southern Touring Late Model Series - $800
Information provided by: J.M. Halllas and series reports (last updated March 19, 6:18 pm)
Theiss captures series opener at Cotton Bowl
  1. Austin Theiss
  2. Colton Horner
  3. Kevin Sitton
  4. G.W. Egbert IV
  5. Jim Moon
  6. Tracy Denby Jr.
  7. Brandon Brzozowski
  8. Brian Machicek
  9. Sloppy Hog
  10. Eddy Hardage
  11. Kody Hardage
  12. Gary Lowe
  13. Mark Shipman
  14. Todd Jouett
  15. Alex Ashley
  16. Casey Fielding
presented by
Brenda Dancer/Dancer Motorsports Photos
Austin Theiss heads for victory in the Southern Texas opener.
What won the race: Austin Theiss of Hockley, Texas, wrestled the mid-race lead from teen Colton Horton to capture the Southern Texas Late Model tour opener at Cotton Bowl Speedway. Theiss led the final 15 laps of the caution-plagued 25-lapper.
Quotable: “When we went out for the feature we were shooting for up top," Theiss said. "There was a little bit of moisture up there. I was banking on going for the top and hoping it would work for us. Luckily it worked out for us. When we got into lapped cars I had to change my line a little bit, but it all worked out in the end.”
Key notes: Theiss notched his second career Southern Texas tour victory; he won in 2015 at Cotton Bowl. ... Polesitter Tracy Denby Jr. led early before Colton Horner took command. ... Horner and Theiss made contact during a battle for the lead and a caution erased Theiss's first pass for the lead. ... Midwestern transplant Jim Moon finished fifth driving Robert Scrivner's came. ... Moon won a heat race but mechanical difficulties forced him to search for another ride. ... Scrivner gave up the pole in giving up his ride.
On the move: Jim Moon started 15th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Theiss drives an MB Customs car powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored by Saye Plumbing Contractors, Northside Plumbing Supply, Nolls Automotive, Integra Racing Shocks, Love Graphics and Razor Edge Graphics.
Points chase: G.W. Egbert of Belton, Texas, is the reigning Southern Texas Late Model Series champion.
Car count: 17
Polesitter: Tracy Denby Jr.
Heat race winners: Jim Moon, Colton Horner
Next series race: April 15, Gator Motorplex (Willis, TX) $800
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728