Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/07/2020 13:53:18

Sponsor 743
March 18
Springfield Raceway,
Springfield, MO
Sanction: MARS DIRTcar Series West (March Madness) - $3,000
Information provided by: Various reports (last updated March 19, 6:24 pm)
Chris Simpson breaks through at Springfield
March Madness
  1. Chris Simpson
  2. Tim Manville
  3. Jack Sullivan
  4. Jesse Stovall
  5. Logan Martin
  6. Shannon Scott
  7. Scott Crigler
  8. Brad Looney
  9. Tony Jackson Jr.
  10. Raymond Merrill
  11. Jonathan Rowan
  12. Randy Timms
  13. Jacob Magee
  14. Dewayne Kiefer
  15. Justin Asplin
  16. Austin Rettig
  17. Jeff Roth
  18. Mason Oberkramer
  19. Joe Gorby
  20. Payton Looney
  21. Joe Godsey
  22. Nick Whitehead
presented by
Ron Mitchell
Chris Simpson celebrates his win in Saturday's MARS DIRTcar West-sanctioned race.
What won the race: Polesitter Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, notched his first career MARS DIRTcar Series victory Saturday at Springfield Raceway with a $3,000 West division success over fellow front-row starter Tim Manville of Highland, Ill.
Quotable: "It's a fun little joint, you know. The bottom was really there pretty much the whole race — it was good early in the heats," Simpson said. "I figured (Jesse) Stovall would be coming on the top, but it must've never got going that good."
Key notes: Simpson joins his brother Chad (four victories) as a MARS winner. His first win of the season follows three runner-up finishes and a third-place finish during January's Wild West Shootout at Arizona Speedway. ... Jesse Stovall grabbed second on a restart but runner-up Tim Manville regained the second spot. ... Simpson originally planned to spend the weekend racing at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway in a MARS East/Lucas Oil Series doubleheader, but both shows were scratched due to bad weather. ... Reigning MARS champion Tony Jackson Jr. finished ninth. ... The track paid tribute to the late Patrick Johnson, the former Springfield racer and Jetmore, Kan., track owner who died last month.
On the move: Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., started ninth and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson's Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Five Star Shop Service, Cheap Cars, Advanced Machine & Tool, Randy Davidson Trucking, Chase Decals, Simpson Farms, IITI, Genius Tools, Milwaukee, Bill Bryant Trucking and Lucas Oil.
Points chase: After Springfield, Tony Jackson Jr. (184) leads Scott Crigler (178) and Austin Rettig (162) in MARS West points.
Car count: 23
Next series race: March 24, La Salle Speedway (LaSalle, IL) $7,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Simpson, Manville
Row 2: Stovall, Crigler
Row 3: Asplin, Merrill
Row 4: Godsey, Scott
Row 5: Sullivan, Magee
Row 6: Martin, Timms
Row 7: Rowan, B. Looney
Row 8: Rettig, J. Roth
Row 9: Jackson, Kiefer
Row 10: Gorby, P. Looney
Row 11: Whitehead, Oberkramer
Row 12: Mooneyham

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728