Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1119
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/13/2020 04:02:09

Sponsor 743
March 17
ArkLaTex Speedway,
Vivian, LA
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Pelican) - $5,000
Information provided by: Various reports (last updated March 18, 3:48 pm)
Culp earns $5,000 with Pelican win at ArkLaTex
  1. Timothy Culp
  2. Garrett Alberson
  3. B.J. Robinson
  4. Jon Mitchell
  5. Billy Moyer Jr.
  6. Morgan Bagley
  7. Kyle Beard
  8. Jack Sullivan
  9. Tyler Erb
  10. Chad Thrash
  11. Randy Timms
  12. Ray Moore
  13. Dean Carpenter
  14. Lee Davis
  15. Jesse Stovall
  16. Alex Ashley
  17. Ronny Adams
  18. Austin Theiss
  19. Kyle Pleasant
  20. Stacy Taylor
  21. Robert Baker
  22. Gavin Landers
  23. Chandler Petty
  24. Bo Day
  25. Trey Beene
presented by
Scott Burson/scottscustomart.com
Timothy Culp earned $5,000 for his Pelican victory at ArkLaTex.
What won the race: Polesitter Timothy Culp of West Monroe, La., turned back early challenges from Tyler Erb of New Waverly, Texas, and withstood a late-race charge from fifth-starting Garrett Alberson of Las Cruces, N.M., for a $5,000 Pelican victory at ArkLaTex Speedway.
Quotable: "It's really cool for me and (Tyler Erb) to start on the front row together and get to battle like that. You don't get to do that all the time. That's just storybook stuff. It's super cool we could do that," said Timothy Culp.
Key notes: Culp notched his first Late Model victory since May 29, 2016, at Greenville (Miss.) Speedway in Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series action. ... Culp previously won the unsanctioned event in 2014. ... Garrett Alberson took the lead down the backstretch on the white flag lap but the move was negated due to a caution for Jack Sullivan. ... Tyler Erb clipped an infield tractor tire, ripping the left side of this nosepiece off midway through the race, but continued on. After running in the top three throughout the race, he was involved in a spin on a restart with two laps remaining and dropped to ninth at the finish. ... Jesse Stovall brought out a caution with three laps remaining while running in the top three. ... Only 13 cars were running at the finish. ... Inclement weather postponed the Pelican one week. ... The 50-lap feature carried a total purse of $20,000.
On the move: Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., started 23rd and finished seventh, improving 16 positions.
Winner's sponsors: Culp's XR1 Rocket Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Bennings Heat & Air, Carrier, Culp's Automotive, MSR Mafia, Velocita, Allstar Performance, BulletProof Tees, Brian Craighhead Designs and Schaeffer's Racing Oil.
Car count: 25
Polesitter: Timothy Culp
Heat race winners: Jon Mitchell, Tyler Erb, Timothy Culp
Editor's note: Correct Culp's engine to Clements.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728