Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/02/2020 01:07:54

Sponsor 743
March 11
Carolina Speedway,
Gastonia, NC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Skyler Trull Memorial) - $5,000
Information provided by: Track and team reports (last updated March 13, 12:00 pm)
Pursley inherits victory at Skyler Trull Memorial
Skyler Trull Memorial
  1. Johnny Pursley
  2. Zack Mitchell
  3. Dennis Franklin
  4. G.R. Smith
  5. Michael Brown
  6. Donald Bradsher
  7. Ricky Weiss
  8. Jeff Smith
  9. Scott Shirey
  10. Ben Watkins
  11. David Yandle
  12. Ross Bailes
  13. Anthony Sanders
  14. Michael Rouse
  15. Willie Milliken
  16. Jonathan Davenport
  17. Brian Ledbetter
  18. Doug Sanders
  19. Shaun Medlin
  20. Brian Carswell
  21. Tony Quarles
  22. Chris Ferguson
presented by
Gene Lefler
Johnny Pursley tunes up at Carolina Speedway before the main event.
What won the race: Second-starting Johnny Pursley of Clover, S.C., captured the Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series victory in the Skyler Trull Memorial at Carolina Speedway after apparent race winner Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., weighed six pounds light at the scales.
Quotable: “Man that was a tough deal for Chris to lose the race by 6 pounds, but we’ll take the win,” Pursley said. “I’ve been there in that situation, and it’s a tough one to swallow. We had a great car all night, and it feels good to get the first win of the year for this team.”
Key notes: Pursley outgunned the polesitting Ferguson for the lead at the start of the feature, but Fergy made an outside move to gain command on lap 14 and set the pace through the end of the race. ... Pursley registered his 11th career Clash victory, tying him with Luke Roffers of Concord, N.C., for sixth on the tour's all-time win list. ... Defending race winner Ross Bailes retired on lap 34 while running second with radiator problems. ... The 17th annual Skyler Trull Memorial opened the 18-race Carolina Clash season. ... Larry Trull, a crew member and cousin of veteran racer Doug Sanders, carries on the race in memory of his late daughter, who died at age 5 after a battle with leukemia. ... The track added new lights, an upgraded sound system and backstretch parking for the 2017 season.
On the move: Michael Brown of Pageland, S.C., advanced from the 17th starting spot to finish fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Pursley's Clements-powered Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Twin Oaks Racing, Eagle Manufacturing, Farmers Service Center, Pursley Grading, and White Horse Limited.
Points chase: Pursley, the reigning series champion, jumped out to the early points lead.
Car count: 23
Fast qualifier: Chris Ferguson
Time: 14.650 seconds
Polesitter: Chris Ferguson
Heat race winners: Ben Watkins, Ricky Weeks
Next series race: March 18, Lancaster Speedway (Lancaster, SC) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Ferguson, Pursley
Row 2: Mitchell, Bailes
Row 3: G.R. Smith, Bradsher
Row 4: Rouse, A. Sanders
Row 5: Watkins, Weeks
Row 6: Milliken, Franklin
Row 7: Shirey, Davenport
Row 8: J. Smith, D. Sanders
Row 9: Brown, Ledbetter
Row 10: Carswell, Yandle
Row 11: Medlin, Thompson

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728