Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/02/2020 01:59:06

Sponsor 743
March 11
Smoky Mountain Speedway,
Maryville, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals (Tennessee Tipoff) - $15,000
Information provided by: Robert Holman and Richard Allen of InsideDirtRacing.com (last updated March 11, 3:44 pm)
Tennessee Tipoff falls victim to snow
Chad Wells/wellsracingphotos.com
Snow that began Saturday morning forced a postponement.
Key notes: Steady afternoon snow postponed Saturday's action until Thursday, May 4. ... In Friday's heats, prelim winners Chris Madden, Donald McIntosh and Tim McCreadie all started on the pole; however, McCreadie had to rally from third after officials swapped the first and second starting rows because of two failed starts.
Points chase: The event was set to open the 10-race Schaeffer Oil Spring Nationals season, which wraps up Memorial Day weekend.
Car count: 23
Fast qualifier: Chris Madden
Time: 15.875 seconds
Polesitter: Jimmy Owens
Heat race winners: Jimmy Owens, Donald McIntosh, Chris Madden, Tim McCreadie
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
From series and InsideDirtRacing.com reports

MARYVILLE, Tenn. — Preliminary results from the fourth annual Tennessee Tipoff at Smoky Mountain Speedway, the $15,000-to-win season opener on the Schaeffer Oil Spring Nationals (results unofficial):


Steady afternoon snow forced officials to call off Saturday's fourth annual Tennessee Tipoff at Smoky Mountain Speedway. The event will be made up on Thursday, May 4.

Friday's prelim recap

Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., earned the pole position for Saturday’s 75-lap Tennessee Tipoff main event with a victory in Friday’s first heat race at Smoky Mountain Speedway. Owens overtook heat polesitter Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., on the backstretch of the first heat and raced to a preliminary victory.

Owens will start alongside fast qualifier Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., in Saturday’s main event, while the other two heat winners — Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., and Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y. — make up the second row.

Saturday’s action is scheduled to begin after a 1:30 p.m. drivers’ meeting with a consolation race race preceding the main event.

Saturday's feature lineup

Row 1: Jimmy Owens, Chris Madden
Row 2: Donald McIntosh, Tim McCreadie
Row 3: Jonathan Davenport, Dale McDowell
Row 4: Scott Bloomquist, Jason Croft
Row 5: Shanon Buckingham, Robby Moses
Row 6: Michael Chilton, Skip Arp
Row 7: Mike Marlar, Ricky Weiss
Row 8: Brandon Overton, Joey Coulter
Row 9: Consolation transfers
Row 10: Consolation transfers
Row 11: Provisional starters

Heat race results

(Top four transfer)

First heat: Jimmy Owens, Jonathan Davenport, Shanon Buckingham, Mike Marlar, Stacy Boles, Tommy Kerr.

Second heat: Donald McIntosh, Scott Bloomquist, Michael Chilton, Brandon Overton, David Payne, Billy Ogle Jr.

Third heat: Chris Madden, Dale McDowell, Robby Moses, Ricky Weiss, Mark Douglas, Vic Hill.

Fourth heat: Tim McCreadie, Jason Croft, Skip Arp, Joey Coulter, Ryan King.

Time trials

First group
Jonathan Davenport (49), Blairsville, Ga., 15.913
Donald McIntosh (7), Dawsonville, Ga., 15.927
Jimmy Owens (20), Newport, Tenn., 15.944
Scott Bloomquist (0), Mooresburg, Tenn., 16.095
Shanon Buckingham (50), Morristown, Tenn., 16.111
Michael Chilton (97), Salvisa, Ky., 16.166
Mike Marlar (157), Winfield, Tenn., 16.167
David Payne (8), Murphy, N.C., 16.198
Tommy Kerr (4T), Maryville, Tenn., 16.469
Brandon Overton (116), Evans, Ga., 16.485
Stacy Boles (11B), Clinton, Tenn., 16.552
Billy Ogle Jr. (201), Knoxville, Tenn., 16.677
Second group
Chris Madden (44), Gray Court, S.C., 15.875
Tim McCreadie (39), Watertown, N.Y., 16.122
Dale McDowell (17m), Chickamauga, Ga., 16.138
Skip Arp (31), Georgetown, Tenn., 16.311
Robby Moses (21M), Maryville, Tenn., 16.431
Joey Coulter (2), Miami Springs, Fla., 16.442
Mark Douglas (52), Knoxville, Tenn., 16.484
Jason Croft (9), Woodstock, Ga., 16.609
Vic Hill (1), Mosheim, Tenn., 16.621
Ryan King (30), Seymour, Tenn., 16.841
Ricky Weiss (7W), Headingley, Manitoba, no time

Feature lineup

Row 1: Owens, Madden
Row 2: McIntosh, McCreadie
Row 3: Davenport, McDowell
Row 4: Bloomquist, Croft
Row 5: Buckingham, Moses
Row 6: Chilton, Arp
Row 7: Marlar, Weiss
Row 8: Overton, Coulter
Row 9: Consy transfers
Row 10: Consy transfers
Row 11: Provisional starters

Sponsor 1070
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728