Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/27/2024 03:47:00

Sponsor 743
March 5
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: Southern All Star Series (March Madness) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series and staff reports (last updated March 9, 2:06 am)
Bailes tops Cherokee for first SAS win, $10,000
March Madness
  1. Ross Bailes
  2. Mike Marlar
  3. Jonathan Davenport
  4. Brandon Overton
  5. Chris Madden
  6. Don O'Neal
  7. Justin Williams
  8. Darrell Lanigan
  9. Casey Roberts
  10. Dennis Franklin
  11. T.J. Reaid
  12. Zack Mitchell
  13. Jason Welshan
  14. Michael Brown
  15. Bo Shirley
  16. Clint Smith
  17. Austin Horton
  18. Brent Dixon
  19. Chris Ferguson
  20. Johnny Pursley
  21. Tommy Taylor
  22. Tristan Sealy
  23. Doug Sanders
  24. Brad Skinner
presented by
Zack Kloosterman
Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C., celebrates his career-high $10,000 victory.
What won the race: Third-starting Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C., overtook polesitter Mike Marlar making a third-to-first move on a mid-race restart, and then survived a charge from Brandon Overton for his first career Southern All Star victory in the 60-lap March Madness feature at Cherokee Speedway. Bailes won by 1.063 seconds over Marlar for $10,000 and his richest career victory.
Quotable: "I knew I had a really good car at the beginning when I could take off like that and I just kinda rode there for probably the first 15 laps. We got that restart and I was like, 'I'm gonna give it a try up top,' and it worked, and I got by Brandon (Overton)," Bailes said. "I rubbed Mikey (Marlar) a little bit. I hope he's not too upset about that."
Key notes: Seeking his second win in less than 24 hours, Overton snuck past Bailes for the lead amid lapped traffic on lap 52, but a caution flag for Chris Ferguson negated the move. Bailes then controlled the remainder of the distance while Overton slipped to fourth at the finish, behind runner-up Marlar and third-place Jonathan Davenport. ... Sunday’s 60-lapper was the season-opener for the Southern All Star circuit. … The event was slowed by six cautions on laps 8, 10, 22, 25, 34 and 52. ... Among drivers failing to qualify: Kenny Collins, Eric Hickerson, G.R. Smith, Brian Conner, Jim Manka, Austin Hubbard and Anthony Sanders.
On the move: Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., started eighth and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: The winning Billy Hicks-owned Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Kenny Lamb engine and sponsored by H&H Auto Sales, Bailes Construction, AKW Electrical Contractors and FK Rod Ends.
Points chase: Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., is the defending and four-time series champion.
Car count: 38
Fast qualifier: Mike Marlar
Time: 15.570 seconds
Polesitter: Mike Marlar
Heat race winners: Mike Marlar, Brandon Overton, Justin Williams, Ross Bailes
Consolation race winners: Casey Roberts, T.J. Reaid
Next series race: March 17, Southern Raceway (Milton, FL) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Marlar, Overton
Row 2: Williams, Bailes
Row 3: Welshan, Lanigan
Row 4: Pursley, Davenport
Row 5: O'Neal, Madden
Row 6: Franklin, Brown
Row 7: Ferguson, C. Smith
Row 8: Dixon, D. Sanders
Row 9: Roberts, Reaid
Row 10: Shirley, Horton
Row 11: Skinner, Mitchell
Row 12: Sealy, Taylor

Sponsor 1272
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information