Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/07/2020 13:41:34

Sponsor 743
March 4
North Georgia Speedway,
Chatsworth, GA
Sanction: Ultimate Southeast Series - $4,000
Information provided by: Series and staff reports (last updated March 5, 2:40 pm)
With first Ultimate win, Overton cools Welshan
  1. Brandon Overton
  2. Jason Welshan
  3. Mike Marlar
  4. Jason Hiett
  5. Ray Cook
  6. Michael Page
  7. Riley Hickman
  8. Derek Ellis
  9. Tyler Millwood
  10. Jonathan Davenport
  11. Tyler Clem
  12. John Ownbey
  13. Matt Henderson
  14. David Payne
  15. Dennis Franklin
  16. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  17. Tod Hernandez
  18. Shawn Chastain
  19. Jim Manka
  20. Shane Tankersley
  21. Casey Roberts
  22. Justin Litchford
  23. Brian Ligon
  24. Johnny Pursley
presented by
Marty Bingham/binghamfreelance.com
Brandon Overton (116) heads for a $4,000 North Georgia victory.
What won the race: Fifth-starting Brandon Overton, of Evans, Ga., held off late-race challenges from polesitter Jason Welshan of Maryville, Tenn., to capture the season-opening Ultimate Super Late Model Series victory at North Georgia Speedway. Overton, who earned $4,000, took the checkers ahead of Welshan by .663 seconds.
Key notes: Overton nabbed his first career Ultimate victory. ... Welshan's two-race winning streak was snapped. ... The race was slowed by two cautions. ... Sixteen of the 24 starters finished on the lead lap. ... Defending series champion Dennis Franklin finished 15th. ... This event marked the third straight year the Ultimate Super Late Model Series, now in its seventh season, opened up at North Georgia Speedway. ... Among drivers failing to qualify for the feature: Billy Ogle Jr., Steve Smith, Brett Hamm, Andrew Littleton, Aaron Wilson, Brandon Carpenter and Dustin Mitchell.
On the move: After starting ninth, Jason Hiett of Oxford, Ala., advanced five spots to finish fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Overton's Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and has sponsorship from A.F. Stone Professional Medical Services, Mission Transport, Stone Land Clearing and Excavating, Crossfit Overton, The Bailey Company, Outlaw Racing Southeast and Dream Racing Technologies.
Points chase: Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., won the 2016 championship over Kenny Collins of Colbert, Ga.
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Jason Welshan
Time: 14.174 seconds
Polesitter: Jason Welshan
Consolation race winners: Casey Roberts, Matt Henderson
Next series race: March 18, County Line Raceway (Elm City, NC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728