Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/01/2023 10:52:15

Sponsor 743
June 7
Volusia Speedway Park,
Barberville, FL
Sanction: United Dirt Late Model Challenge Series (Powell Memorial) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated June 8, 1:46 pm)
Whitener tops Nosbisch to capture Powell Memorial
Powell Memorial
  1. Mark Whitener
  2. Keith Nosbisch
  3. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  4. Stanton Mills
  5. Bo Allen
  6. Jason Fitzgerald
  7. Austin Kirkpatrick
  8. Carter Stokes
  9. Darrell Padgett
  10. Jack Nosbisch Jr.
  11. Joe Kump
  12. John Kellum
  13. Blaise Hetznecker
  14. C.J. Waldron
  15. Bobby Richardson
  16. Kenny Monahan
  17. Caleb McGillivray
  18. Tyler Clem
  19. Scott Lagasse Jr.
  20. Tyler Crowder
  21. Ryan Van Sickle
  22. Donnie Chappell
  23. Phillip Cobb
  24. Shan Smith
  25. Cecil Eunice
  26. David Shugart
presented by
Robert Wing/rewingphotos.com
Mark Whitener slips under Keith Nosbisch for the winning pass.
What won the race: Fifth-starting Mark Whitener of Middleburg, Fla., overtook polesitter Keith Nosbisch of Valrico, Fla., with six laps remaining in the 67-lap UDLMCS event for a $5,000 victory in the traditional Florida event. Car owner Augie Burtram hoisted Whitener on his shoulders in victory lane after the victory.
Key notes: Tyler Ivey of Tallahassee, Fla., led early before fading. ... Rain after time trials delayed the beginning of racing for about two hours. ... The 19th running of the race that honors Powell family members killed in a plane crash; the family formerly owned Ocala Speedway. ... The series returned to action after nearly a month off. ... Ivedent Lloyd Jr. of Ocala, Fla., piloted a car carrying a replica graphics scheme of James Powell's father's car; engine problems, however, forced him into David Clegg's car for the main event. ... UDLMCS competitors return to Volusia Aug. 30, Nov. 8 and Dec. 6.
On the move: Lloyd rallied from the tail to finish third.
Winner's sponsors: Whitener's Big Frog Motorsports Barry Wright Race Car is sponsored by AR Bodies, B and B Produce, Big Frog Signs & Graphix, Big Frog Shock & Suspension Technology, Comp Cams, Dave's Towing, Daytona Sensors, Hoosier Racing Tire, Racecar Engineering and Schoenfeld Headers.
Points chase: Series points leader Austin Kirkpatrick of Ocala, Fla., entered with a 50-point lead over Jason Fitzgerald of Middleburg; Kirkpatrick was sixth in Saturday's event, one spot behind Fitzgerald.
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
Time: 17.197 seconds
Polesitter: Keith Nosbisch
Dash winner: Jason Fitzgerald
Heat race winners: Jason Fitzgerald, Mark Whitener, Darrell Padgett, Keith Nosbisch
Next series race: June 14, Bubba Raceway Park (Ocala, FL) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information