Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/01/2023 04:43:55

Sponsor 743
June 7
Fayetteville Motor Speedway,
Fayetteville, NC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series - $4,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated June 9, 6:37 am)
Roffers inherits $4,000 Fayetteville victory
  1. Luke Roffers
  2. Dustin Mitchell
  3. Zack Mitchell
  4. Ricky Weeks
  5. Steve Blackburn
  6. Scott Shirey
  7. Shaun Harrell
  8. Kennie Compton Jr.
  9. Kyle Pierce
  10. Doug Sanders
  11. Ben Watkins
  12. Mike Gault
  13. Jonathan Edwards
  14. Scott Neighbors
  15. Kevin Godwin
  16. Dennis Franklin
  17. Johnny Pursley
  18. Michael Marlowe
  19. Anthony Sanders
  20. Kevin Wilson
  21. Mike Parker
  22. Lance Finn
  23. Jeff Smith
presented by
Mark Bochiardy/focusedonracing.com
Luke Roffers gives a thumbs up in victory lane at Fayetteville.
What won the race: Benefitting from Dennis Franklin's last-lap woes, fifth-starting Luke Roffers of Concord, N.C., recorded his 11th career Carolina Clash victory, taking the checkers Dustin Mitchell of Pine Level, N.C., and Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., to collect a $4,000 payday.
Key notes: Dennis "Rambo" Franklin took the white flag with a straightaway advantage on Roffers, but tangled with Michael Marlowe's slower car. Franklin limped his mangled car across the line, but officials called a caution, ruling the track was blocked in turn three by the spun Marlowe and Anthony Sanders. Franklin was unable to restart, handing the lead and victory to Roffers. ... Roffers recorded his first series victory since 2012, when he won five events and was crowned the Carolina Clash champion; a pair of his victories came at Fayetteville. ... All drivers received starting spots in the 40-lap feature; the lineup was set straight from qualifying. ... Saturday marked the second of five Clash events at Fayetteville. ... Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., won the track's Ed Gibbons Memorial on April 5, but did not enter Saturday and instead competed in Eldora Speedway's Dream XX. ... Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., won the previous two Clash events, but also did not enter Saturday as the team's lone motor was freshened.
On the move: Steve Blackburn of Greensboro, N.C., climbed from 13th to round out the top-five finishers.
Winner's sponsors: Roffers pilots a Rocket Chassis with sponsorship from Cal-Les II Transport, Roffers Trucking, Roffers Wildlife Studio, Wisconsin Lock & Load and Wolf-Pack Racing.
Points chase: Following the event, Kennie Compton Jr. of Bland, Va., has 176 points to lead Kyle Pierce (168 points), Johnny Pursley (166) and Scott Shirey (163). Jonathan Edwards of Charlotte, N.C., leads the Rookie of the Year chase.
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Johnny Pursley
Time: 16.969 seconds
Polesitter: Johnny Pursley
Next series race: June 10, Laurens County Speedway (Laurens, SC) $3,000
Editor's note: Adds details about Franklin's demise.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information