Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 605
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/11/2020 02:09:22

Sponsor 743
February 3
East Bay Raceway Park,
Gibsonton, FL
Sanction: Non-touring Crate (Winternationals) - $2,500
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated February 4, 1:29 pm)
East Bay standout turns back Crate invaders
  1. Phillip Cobb
  2. Cla Knight
  3. Max Blair
  4. Doug Horton
  5. Mike Pegher Jr.
  6. Hudson O'Neal
  7. Keith Nosbisch
  8. Logan Roberson
  9. Steve Mathis Jr.
  10. Walker Arthur
  11. Travis Varnadore
  12. Jamie Slatton
  13. Ken Monahan
  14. Josh Peacock
  15. Jeff Mathews
  16. Austin Burns
  17. Doug Watson
  18. Mark Whitener
  19. Will Thomas III
  20. Bronson Berry
  21. Clinton Hersh
  22. Remington Gill
  23. Derek Rogers
  24. Devin Dixon
presented by
Bob Wing/rewingphotos.com
Phillip Cobb celebrates his $2,500 victory Friday at East Bay.
What won the race: Defending his home-track turf, Phillip Cobb of Dover, Fla., became the fourth leader after a lap-10 restart and grabbed a $2,500 Crate Late Model victory Friday at East Bay Raceway Park's 41st annual Winternationals. Runner-up Cla Knight of North Augusta, Ga., finished just a half-second behind at the checkers.
Quotable: "We had the car in pieces the last two days and found something and it worked," Cobb said.
Key notes: Seventh-starting Mike Pegher Jr. of Wexford, Pa., raced to the front quickly and led laps 9-10 before Cobb took control. ... Mark Whitener led laps 2-9 but fell from contention. ... Devin Dixon led the first lap but faded and retired after 10 laps. ... Friday's race was the second of three weekend Crate Late Model events. ... Pegher drove a Jerry Haseleu-owned car to victory in Thursday's opener. ... Saturday's finale pays $3,000-to-win.
On the move: Hudson O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., who won a consolation race, started 19th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Cobb's C&B Motorsports No. 03 is sponsored by Dynamic Painting, Mathis Farms, Jimmy's Competition Engines and Race Life Apparel and Wrapz.
Car count: 38
Fast qualifier: Cla Knight
Time: 16.387 seconds
Heat race winners: Max Blair, Devin Dixon, Will Thomas III, Phillip Cobb, Mark Whitener, Cla Knight
Consolation race winners: Doug Watson, Hudson O'Neal
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728