Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 11/27/2020 13:51:16

Sponsor 743
January 26
Bubba Raceway Park,
Ocala, FL
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA Winter Series (Bubba Army Winter Nationals) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated January 27, 9:20 am)
Sheppard dominates NeSmith opener at Ocala
Bubba Army Winter Nationals
  1. Brandon Sheppard
  2. Kyle Bronson
  3. Jamie Perry
  4. Ronnie Johnson
  5. Mike Pegher Jr.
  6. Hudson O'Neal
  7. Marcus Minga
  8. Jeff Mathews
  9. Doug Horton
  10. Blake Spencer
  11. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  12. Tyler Bare
  13. Walker Arthur
  14. Max Blair
  15. Will Thomas III
  16. Mark Whitener
  17. Colton Horner
  18. Tyler Clem
  19. Victor Lee
  20. Corey Almond
  21. Logan Roberson
  22. Brian Swank
  23. Devin Dixon
  24. Trent Ivey
presented by
Zach Yost
Brandon Sheppard (right) parked the Marc Sallack-owned Rocket in victory lane at Bubba Raceway Park.
What won the race: Polesitter Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., led all the way in a de facto Rocket Chassis house car for a $2,000 victory at Bubba Raceway Park in the opening of a weekend Crate Late Model tripleheader. Sheppard edged away from fifth-starting Kyle Bronson of Brandon, Fla., on the final restart for a 40-lap victory.
Quotable: "The racetrack was pretty good. It got a little bit one-laned there, but with the (afternoon) rain and everything, it's really hard to determine what you need to do to the racetrack to get it too racy," Sheppard said. "But overall it was pretty racy there at the beginning."
Key notes: Sheppard is driving the Rocket Chassis house car in Super Late Model action in 2017; Rocket partner Marc Sallack provides a Crate Late Model ride for Sheppard at Ocala. ... The winning margin was 1.252 seconds. ... Tyler Bare started 10th and worked his way up to fifth before drawing a late caution with a flat tire. ... Eighteen drivers finished on the lead lap. ... Among those failing to make the feature were Jake Teague, Hunter Carroll, Pierce McCarter, Forrest Trent, Guy Taylor, Joe Kump, Connor Meade and Dennis Franklin. ... Competitors are eyeing a $10,000-to-win weekend finale Saturday, a 100-lapper.
On the move: Hudson O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., started 22nd and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: The Marc Sallack-owned No. 17B Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Sallack Well Services, Valvoline, Morocco Welding and Hoosier Tire.
Points chase: Ronnie Johnson is the points leader after two races in NeSmith's winter miniseries.
Car count: 41
Fast qualifier: Brandon Sheppard
Time: 14.983 seconds
Polesitter: Brandon Sheppard
Consolation race winners: Mark Whitener, Jeff Mathews, Doug Horton
Next series race: January 27, Bubba Raceway Park (Ocala, FL) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Sheppard, Perry
Row 2: Johnson, Pegher
Row 3: Bronson, Ivey
Row 4: Whitener, Mathews
Row 5: Horton, Bare
Row 6: Lee, Blair
Row 7: Lloyd, Spencer
Row 8: Clem, Minga
Row 9: Thomas, Dixon
Row 10: Almon, Horner
Row 11: Roberson, O'Neal
Row 12: Arthur, Swank

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728