Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/29/2023 14:44:03

Sponsor 743
January 15
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA Winter Series (Ice Bowl) - $3,000
Information provided by: Robert Holman (last updated January 18, 10:42 am)
Williams dominates series opener at Talladega
Ice Bowl
  1. Brandon Williams
  2. Riley Hickman
  3. Ronnie Johnson
  4. Jimmy Elliott
  5. Jeff Helms
  6. Matt Black
  7. Adam Gauldin
  8. Eric Hickerson
  9. Sid Scarbrough
  10. John Ownbey
  11. Kevin Sitton
  12. Colton Horner
  13. Kyle Clifton
  14. Zach Shannon
  15. Steve Kirk
  16. Zack Graham
  17. Andy Picklesimer
  18. Cruz Skinner
  19. Bobby Mills
  20. Jason Britton
  21. Pierce McCarter
  22. Michael Arnold
  23. Cale Conley
  24. Dustin Knighten
presented by
Bruce Carroll
Brandon Williams won $3,000 for his Crate Late Model victory.
What won the race: Polesitter Brandon Williams of Crossville, Tenn., was never seriously challenged as he led flag-to-flag to win Round 1 of the NeSmith Winter Shootout for Crate Late Models.
Quotable: "We've come down here (to Talladega Short Track) for years and never had much luck. (We decided) we'd just make our own luck." —Race winner Brandon Williams
Key notes: This is the first race of the seven-race RockAuto.com Winter Shootout, a mini-series for NeSmith Crate Late Models that wraps up March 11 at Cochran (Ga.) Motor Speedway. ... Runner-up Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., spun in turn four on the final circuit but kept his engine running and backed down the frontstretch across the start-finish line just ahead of Ronnie Johnson, who finished third despite an ill-handling car. ... The caution-plagued event was red-flagged for a five-car melee in turn three. ... Among a pair of Texas natives in the starting lineup was 13-year-old Colton Horner, who finished 12th, one spot behind fellow Texan Kevin Sitton. ... The event was postponed one week due freezing rain and sleet.
On the move: After winning one of Sunday's consolation races, Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., started the feature 12th and drove to a third-place finish.
Winner's sponsors: Williams' CVR Race Car is sponsored by B&R Kustoms.
Points chase: Chase Edge is the defending Winter Shootout champion.
Car count: 42
Fast qualifier: John Ownbey
Time: 14.222 seconds
Polesitter: Brandon Williams
Heat race winners: Brandon Williams, Jimmy Elliott, Riley Hickman, Pierce McCarter, Jeff Helms
Consolation race winners: Zach Shannon, Ronnie Johnson, Michael Arnold, Adam Gauldin
Next series race: January 26, Bubba Raceway Park (Ocala, FL) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information