Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/02/2023 03:14:08

Sponsor 743
December 3
Oglethorpe Speedway Park,
Savannah, GA
Sanction: Non-touring Crate (Showdown in Savannah) - $10,000
Information provided by: Roby Helm (last updated December 4, 1:43 pm)
Davenport wins $10,000 Showdown in Savannah
Showdown in Savannah
  1. Jonathan Davenport
  2. Mark Whitener
  3. Dennis Franklin
  4. Ben Faircloth
  5. Jason Fitzgerald
  6. Russell Brown Jr.
  7. Kyle Bronson
  8. Robbie Cowart
  9. Cla Knight
  10. Cecil Eunice
  11. Garrett Shurling
  12. Keith Tuten
  13. Eddie Jo Morris
  14. Travis Pennington
  15. Robert Diekemper
  16. Ryan Crane
  17. Tom Egner
  18. Larry Drawdy
  19. Hunter Carter
  20. Branden Yawn
  21. Jordan Yawn
  22. Joshua Bishop
  23. Colby Jenerette
  24. Donnie Bazemore Jr.
  25. Casey Barrow
presented by
Mark Dhaemers/South Georgia Racing
Shown during weekend practice Jonathan Davenport won the main event.
What won the race: Taking the lead when polesitter and race-long leader Travis Pennington fell victim to a flat tire, Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., led the final 27 laps Saturday at Oglethorpe Speedway Park for a $10,000 victory in the 19th annual Showdown in Savannah. Davenport picked up his second straight Crate Late Model victory in a Benji Cranford-owned entry, taking the checkers 1.682 seconds ahead of runner-up Mark Whitener.
Key notes: Davenport won his second start in Cranford's car, a newly designed Barry Wright Race Car that will be driven by Cannan Cranford next season. ... Davenport earned $20,000 eight days earlier at Swainsboro (Ga.) Raceway's Turkey 100 for Crate Late Models. ... Travis Pennington pitted to fix his flat and finished 14th. ... Eleven of 25 starters completed 75 laps. ... Nine cautions slowed the feature. ... Oglethorpe's event was originally scheduled for October, but was postponed because of Hurricane Matthew.
On the move: Jason Fitzgerald of Middleburg, Fla., started 19th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Davenport's No. 49 Icon chassis by Barry Wright Race Cars is sponsored by C&H Paving Inc., BCI Asphalt and Sapato Sole.
Points chase: Eddie Jo Morris won the 2016 Oglethorpe title.
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: Hunter Carter
Time: 20.221 seconds
Polesitter: Travis Pennington
Heat race winners: Travis Pennington, Jonathan Davenport, Dennis Franklin, Hunter Carter
Consolation race winners: Robbie Cowart
Provisional starters: Larry Drawdy, Tom Egner, Ryan Crane
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information