Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/02/2022 09:09:54

Sponsor 743
November 26
Swainsboro Raceway,
Swainsboro, GA
Sanction: Non-touring Crate (Turkey 100) - $20,000
Information provided by: Cole Perkins and track reports (last updated November 28, 6:46 am)
Davenport nets $20,000 in repeat at Turkey 100
Turkey 100
  1. Jonathan Davenport
  2. Mark Whitener
  3. Kyle Bronson
  4. Brandon Overton
  5. Hudson O'Neal
  6. Ross Bailes
  7. Jimmy Sharpe Jr.
  8. Jimmy Thomas
  9. Ben Faircloth
  10. Chris Ferguson
  11. Matt Long
  12. Ches Chester
  13. John Henderson
  14. Blake Spencer
  15. Donald Bradsher
  16. Garrett Shurling
  17. Shannon Graham
  18. Trent Ivey
  19. Russell Brown Jr.
  20. Michael Brown
  21. Corey Gordon
  22. Tyler Mimbs
  23. Dennis Franklin
  24. Bob Robertson
  25. Jeremy Faircloth
  26. Blake Smith
presented by
Richard Barnes
Jonathan Davenport (second from left) is joined in victory lane by (left to right) Barry Wright, Lance Wright and Swainsboro owner Paul Purvis.
What won the race: Beginning his new partnership with Barry Wright Race Cars, sixth-starting Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., pocketed $20,000 Saturday for a repeat victory in Swainsboro Raceway's Turkey 100 for Crate Late Models. Floridians Mark Whitener and Kyle Bronson, who rallied back after ceding the lead to Davenport due to a flat tire, finished second and third, respectively.
Quotable: "I had to work for that one. Me and (Kyle) Bronson, we had a heckuva race all the way up through there," Davenport said. "The track widened out pretty good there early and we could run bottom or top. Lapped traffic was getting pretty hairy there, but that was making for a helluva race for everybody to watch."
Key notes: Davenport, who registered his 21st overall victory of 2016, drove a newly-designed Barry Wright Race Car that has been dubbed the Icon. He's rejoined the house car team for 2017 after driving for K&L Rumley Enterprises the last three seasons. ... Kyle Bronson of Brandon, Fla., was leading the event before a right-front flat tire forced him to pit; he rallied back to finish third. ... Polesitter Jimmy Sharpe Jr. led early before Bronson took command. ... Brandon Overton made a fourth-to-second charge early, but slipped back to finish fourth.
On the move: Hudson O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., started 12th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Davenport's No. 49 Icon chassis by Barry Wright Race Cars is sponsored by C&H Paving Inc., BCI Asphalt and Sapato Sole.
Points chase: Blake Smith of Dublin, Ga., has 854 points to lead Tyler Mimbs (804) in the track's Crate Late Model points.
Car count: 45
Polesitter: Jimmy Sharpe Jr.
Heat race winners: Jimmy Sharpe Jr., Kyle Bronson, Jimmy Thomas, Brandon Overton, Mark Whitener, Jonathan Davenport
Consolation race winners: Garrett Shurling, Blake Smith, Ross Bailes
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Sharpe Jr., Bronson
Row 2: Thomas, Overton
Row 3: Whitener, Davenport
Row 4: Ivey, Gordon
Row 5: M. Brown, Long
Row 6: R. Brown, O'Neal
Row 7: Robertson, Bradsher
Row 8: Henderson, Chester
Row 9. B. Faircloth, J. Faircloth
Row 10: Shurling, Smith
Row 11: Bailes, Ferguson
Row 12: Spencer, Franklin

Sponsor 1044
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728