Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/27/2020 03:37:35

Sponsor 743
October 9
Springfield Raceway,
Springfield, MO
Sanction: MARS DIRTcar Series West (Showdown on Route 66) - $6,600
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated October 10, 9:36 am)
Vaught tops Moyer, Pierce at Springfield
Showdown on Route 66
  1. Will Vaught
  2. Billy Moyer
  3. Bobby Pierce
  4. Jack Sullivan
  5. Jacob Magee
  6. Garrett Alberson
  7. Brad Looney
  8. Tyler Erb
  9. Wendell Wallace
  10. Randy Timms
  11. Rodney Sanders
  12. Payton Looney
  13. Jake O'Neil
  14. Dustin Mooneyham
  15. Brent Larson
  16. Jesse Stovall
  17. Dewayne Kiefer
  18. Jeff Roth
  19. Logan Martin
  20. Kyle Beard
  21. Terry Phillips
  22. Justin Wells
  23. Tony Jackson Jr.
  24. Scott Crigler
presented by
Ron Mitchell
Will Vaught tunes up at Springfield before his $6,600 victory.
What won the race: Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., emerged from a tight, mid-race battle with race-long leader Bobby Pierce and Billy Moyer amid traffic to score a $6,600 MARS DIRTcar Series victory in Springfield Raceway's Showdown on Route 66.
Quotable: "When we caught lapped cars there, the track was really getting one-laned. I was trying to keep my tires underneath me — I'm sure (the right-rear tire) is worn out — but I tried to keep my tires underneath me and not spin the tires," Vaught said. "When we got to the lapped cars, I said 'I gotta go.' I knew I had a good race car."
Key notes: Vaught also earned significant lap money in capturing his 10th career MARS victory . ... A mid-race battle among Vaught, Moyer and Pierce had the frontrunners dicing it up amid traffic. ... Logan Martin drew an early caution. ... Rain postponed the program originally set for Thursday to Sunday evening. ... The event made up a June 30 rainout on the UMP DIRTcar Summernationals. ... The MARS tour wrapped up its 2016 season.
Winner's sponsors: Vaught's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Keyser Mfg., Integra Shocks, Wright Asphalt Products and GW Performance.
Points chase: Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., who retired early in the feature, was crowned the 2016 MARS champion.
Car count: 33
Fast qualifier: Jacob Magee
Time: 13.743 seconds
Polesitter: Jacob Magee
Heat race winners: Jacob Magee, Bobby Pierce, Jesse Stovall, Terry Phillips
Consolation race winners: Logan Martin, Jake O'Neil
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728