Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1140
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/26/2020 08:30:31

Sponsor 743
October 1
Fayetteville Motor Speedway,
Fayetteville, NC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Boom City Fall Classic) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and team reports (last updated October 3, 4:52 pm)
Fayetteville gives Pursley fourth Carolina Clash win
Boom City Fall Classic
  1. Johnny Pursley
  2. Dennis Franklin
  3. Donald Bradsher
  4. Michael Rouse
  5. Anthony Sanders
  6. Ross Bailes
  7. Scott Shirey
  8. Mike Parker
  9. Jimmy McNamara
  10. Willie Milliken
  11. Doug Sanders
  12. Dale Hammond
  13. Justin Williams
  14. Kevin Wilson
  15. Chris Ferguson
  16. Jeff Smith
  17. Ron Pope
  18. Zach Blackwell
  19. Zach Cox
presented by
What won the race: Inheriting the lead when Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., retired after breaking on a lap-11 restart, Johnny Pursley of Clover, S.C., led the rest of the way Saturday night at Fayetteville Motor Speedway for his fourth Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series victory of the season. Pursley earned $5,000 in a 40-lap race pushed well after midnight by rain earlier in the program.
Quotable: “Chris was really good early there in the feature, and if he hadn’t broken I think we would’ve had a real good race for the win,” Pursley said. “This team has just been awesome all year, and it feels really great to put them back in victory lane.”
Key notes: Pursley's three previous Carolina Clash victories all came in August; he and Ross Bailes are tied with four series victories apiece. ... Runner-up Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., rallied after a lap-11 flat tire; he finished 2.431 seconds behind Pursley. ... Justin Williams was running second when he headed pitside on lap 15. ... Jeff Smith retired on lap 11 with a broken right-rear axle. ... Nine drivers finished on the lead lap. ... Willie Milliken, who finished 10th in the Carolina Clash feature, won the preceding FUEL Series feature for Limited Late Models.
On the move: Winner Johnny Pursley started sixth; Scott Shirey started 16th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Pursley's Clements-powered Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Twin Oaks Racing, Eagle Manufacturing, Farmers Service Center, Pursley Grading and White Horse Limited.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Pursley had 1,356 points to lead Ross Bailes (1,297).
Car count: 21
Fast qualifier: Chris Ferguson
Time: 17.251 seconds
Polesitter: Chris Ferguson
Next series race: October 8, Volunteer Speedway (Bulls Gap, TN) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728