Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/27/2020 21:43:30

Sponsor 743
October 1
Eldora Speedway,
Rossburg, OH
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series (DIRTcar Fall Nationals) - $5,000
Information provided by: Track and team reports (last updated October 3, 6:30 pm)
Zeigler picks up Eldora's $5,000 in wee hours
DIRTcar Fall Nationals
  1. Mason Zeigler
  2. Brian Ruhlman
  3. Duane Chamberlain
  4. Mike Spatola
  5. Casey Noonan
  6. Bobby Pierce
  7. Kody Evans
  8. Rob Anderzack
  9. Jason Wagner
  10. Steve Casebolt
  11. David Hilliker
  12. Jon Henry
  13. Nick Latham
  14. Jesse Lay
  15. Devin Moran
  16. Dustin Nobbe
  17. Steve Kester
  18. Kent Robinson
  19. McKay Wenger
  20. Brad Wade
  21. Josh Rice
  22. Jerry Bowersock
  23. Tripp Gerrald
  24. Andrew Reaume
  25. Jason Playter Jr.
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Mason Zeigler's team in victory lane at Eldora Speedway.
What won the race: Surviving a nearly seven-hour rain delay, Mason Zeigler of Chalk Hill, Pa., wrapped up a $5,000 victory at Eldora Speedway's DIRTcar Nationals at 4 a.m. Zeigler, who inherited the lead when Bobby Pierce blew a right-rear tire near halfway, notched his first career Sunoco American Late Model Series victory.
Quotable: “It was an unbelievably long night, but his was a great way to debut a new race car,” Zeigler said. “I hated to see Bobby have bad luck while leading. I’ve been there and definitely know how bad that feels. However, it felt awesome to win in this brand new Bob Pierce Platinum Race Car."
Key notes: A red flag fell for rain after 26 of 40 laps; action resumed about 3:45 a.m. after a delay of six hours and 47 minutes. ... Zeigler was victorious at Eldora for the first time in his career in his debut run with a new Pierce Platinum car. ... Dustin Nobbe picked up a $2,079 check for winning the #DashForDough, a tribute to late racer Shane "Doughboy" Unger; the final race of the event was among drivers who'd never previously won a Super Late Model feature.
Winner's sponsors: Zeigler's Pierce Platinum Race Car is sponsored by Ohiopyle Vacation Rentals, ISI Insurance Services, Old Mill Farms and GottaRace.com.
Points chase: Pierce was crowned the champion of DIRTcar's season-long weekly points for the third consecutive season; Jon Henry of Ada, Ohio, entered the event leading Eldora's track points by 33 over Kent Robinson.
Car count: 36
Fast qualifier: Mike Spatola
Time: 15.556 seconds
Heat race winners: Jon Henry, Brian Ruhlman, Andrew Reaume, Mason Zeigler
Consolation race winners: Steve Kester
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728