Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/21/2024 18:15:24

Sponsor 743
September 23
Tri-City Speedway,
Granite City, IL
Sanction: DIRTcar Racing (non-touring) (Late Model Mania) - $2,500
Information provided by: Jimmy Dearing and track reports (last updated September 24, 9:27 am)
Pierce grabs second straight Tri-City victory
Late Model Mania
  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Shannon Babb
  3. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  4. Gordy Gundaker
  5. Mark Voigt
  6. Jason Feger
  7. Jim Shereck
  8. Dustin Griffin
  9. Claude Walker
  10. Allen Murray
  11. Michael Kloos
  12. Cody Conner
  13. Ken Rumble
  14. Mark Rose
  15. Matt Bailey
  16. Billy Laycock
  17. Daryn Klein
  18. Jeremy Sneed
  19. Jeff Herzog
  20. Rusty Griffaw
  21. Rickey Frankel
  22. Tanner English
  23. Caleb Ashby
presented by
Jimmy Dearing/stlracingphotos.com
Bobby Pierce takes the checkers on Friday at Tri-City Speedway.
What won the race: Fifth-starting Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., made it back-to-back victories in the UMP DIRTcar-sanctioned Late Model portion of the Mod Mania weekend at Tri-City Speedway by beating Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., who was the runner-up for the second straight night. He'll go for a tripleheader sweep Saturday.
Quotable: "We got a caution and I got a really good restart and got by Babb and got under (early leader) Gordy (Gundaker) ... the car was really good tonight," Pierce said, adding thanks for his sponsors and supporters.
Key notes: Pierce swept last year's tripleheader at Tri-City and is one victory shy of doing it again. The 19-year-old pushed his 2016 feature win total to 21 and continued rolling toward his third consecutive UMP DIRTcar national title. ... Babb, who is winless in 2016, registered his fourth runner-up finish of the season. ... The event was the second of three straight nights of racing at Tri-City. ... Saturday's event will pay $3,000-to-win.
Winner's sponsors: The winning Bob Pierce Race Car is sponsored by Allgayer Inc., Premier Waste Service, Carnaghi Towing and Repair, Champion Spark Plugs, Keyser Manufacturing, Swet Mftg., AR Bodies and Petersen Aluminum.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Michael Kloos of Trenton, Ill., leads Tri-City's weekly Late Model standings with 786 points over Billy Laycock (768).
Car count: 35
Fast qualifier: Jason Feger
Time: 14.766 seconds
Polesitter: Michael Kloos
Heat race winners: Michael Kloos, Gordy Gundaker, Shannon Babb, Tanner English, Bobby Pierce
Consolation race winners: Caleb Ashby, Daryn Klein
Next series race: October 13, Lernerville Speedway (Sarver, PA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information