Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/07/2020 06:08:24

Sponsor 743
March 22
Springfield Raceway,
Springfield, MO
Sanction: MARS DIRTcar Series West (March Madness) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated March 28, 1:11 pm)
Top seed Phillips wins MARS March Madness
March Madness
  1. Terry Phillips
  2. Ryan Gustin
  3. Tony Jackson Jr.
  4. Brad Looney
  5. Kyle Beard
  6. Brandon McCormick
  7. Jacob Magee
  8. Josh Hughes
  9. Brandon Morton
  10. Justin Asplin
  11. Leroy Johnson
  12. Jesse Stovall
  13. Jason Hughes
  14. Jeff Roth
  15. Dustin Mooneyham
  16. Austin Rettig
  17. Corey Zeitner
  18. Joey Smith
  19. Jon Driskill
  20. Will Vaught
  21. Don Cloyd
  22. Michael Maggard
presented by
Chris Bork/cbracephotos.com
Terry Phillips tunes up before his hometown victory.
What won the race: Third-starting Terry Phillips scored his series-leading 83rd career victory.
Key notes: Phillips is a six-time MARS champion; his crowns came in 2000, 2004, 2005, 2008, 2009 and 2010. ... In place of the redraw, the top eight drivers in heat race passing points shot baskets to determine feature starting spots; Will Vaught, a former Missouri All-State basketball player, was the first to make a shot and earned the pole. ... March Madness event was the third of 31 events on the series' 2014 campaign. ... The series will return to Springfield on May 10 and Sept. 13.
Winner's sponsors: Phillips steers a Rocket Chassis powered by Hatfield Racing Engine and sponsored by Andy’s Frozen Custard, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Don Babb Motorsports and New Vision Graphics.
Points chase: Defending series champion Tony Jackson Jr. unofficially took the points lead with his third-place finish; Brian Shirley and Riley Hickman sat atop the standings entering the evening, but neither driver attended Saturday's event.
Car count: 25
Polesitter: Will Vaught
Heat race winners: Will Vaught, Jesse Stovall, Terry Phillips
Consolation race winners: Corey Zeitner
Provisional starters: Michael Maggard
Next series race: April 18, Davenport Speedway (Davenport, IA) $3,000
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728