Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/24/2024 08:28:17

Sponsor 743
September 8
River Cities Speedway,
Grand Forks, ND
Sanction: Northern LateModel Racing Association (Prelude to the Johnny) - $1,500
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 9, 12:22 pm)
Seng gets title as Strand ties NLRA record
Prelude to the Johnny
  1. Dustin Strand
  2. Bill Mooney
  3. David McDonald
  4. Chad Mahder
  5. Don Shaw
  6. Brad Seng
  7. Steve Laursen
  8. Zach Naastad
  9. Bryan LePier
  10. Aaron Turnbull
  11. Brandon Fuller
  12. Mike Martin
  13. Steve Anderson
  14. Jon Samuelson
  15. George Ledin Jr.
  16. A.J. Diemel
  17. Nick Anvelink
  18. Curt Gelling
  19. Pat Doar
  20. Cole Schill
  21. Tom Corcoran
  22. Mike Balcaen
  23. Joey Pederson
  24. Shane Edginton
  25. Lance Matthees
  26. Ryan Corbett
presented by
What won the race: Tying the Northern LateModel Racing Association's single-season mark for victories, hometown driver Dustin Strand led the final 16 laps Thursday at River Cities Speedway for $1,500 and his eighth victory in the tour's season finale. Despite the seventh-starting Strand's triumph, he fell short of overtaking sixth-place finisher Brad Seng of Grand Forks, N.D., for the series title.
Key notes: The event opened the non-tour John Seitz Memorial weekend at River Cities, a $9,200-to-win event. ... Strand tied the late Seitz's all-time record with his seventh NLRA victory ... Strand won five of the last seven series events. ... Strand won the WISSOTA Late Model championship at River Cities this season. ... River Cities hosted the tour four times in 2016, with Strand winning the last three events. ... Third-place finisher David McDonald made his River Cities debut. ... Reigning John Seitz Memorial winner Chad Mahder was fourth at Thursday's finish. ... Don Shaw, who swept a pair of NLRA events at Viking Speedway over Labor Day weekend, completed the top five.
On the move: Bill Mooney of Selkirk, Manitoba, started 12th and finished second, earning the hard-charger award.
Winner's sponsors: Strand's Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Q&Z Plumbing and Heating, Schill Construction, RealTruck.com, Forks Mobile Wash, Generation Spa & Salon, McCaughen's Everflow Eavestroughing, Fastlane Racing Equipment and Anderson Brothers Body Shop.
Points chase: Brad Seng of Grand Forks, N.D., held on to top Strand by eight points for his third series championship.
Car count: 37
Polesitter: David McDonald
Heat race winners: Nick Anvelink, David McDonald, Brad Seng, Steve Laursen
Consolation race winners: Lance Matthees
Editor's note: Corrects that Strand tied, not broke, Seitz's single-season victories record.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information