Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 01/30/2023 21:33:33

Sponsor 743
September 3
Lancaster Speedway,
Lancaster, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series - $4,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated September 4, 9:30 am)
Smith's last-lap pass ends Pursley's win streak
  1. Jeff Smith
  2. Johnny Pursley
  3. Ross Bailes
  4. Ben Watkins
  5. Josh Langley
  6. Anthony Sanders
  7. Jimmy McNamara
  8. Chris Ferguson
  9. Kenny Rominger Jr.
  10. Billy Hicks
  11. Doug Sanders
  12. Jonathan Edwards
  13. Mike Huey
  14. Zack Mitchell
  15. Bryan Mullis
  16. David Yandle
  17. Hank Taylor
presented by
What won the race: Ending Johnny Pursley's personal four-race winning streak, Jeff Smith of Dallas, N.C., made a last-lap pass exiting turn four at Lancaster Speedway for a $4,000 Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series victory. With his first series victory since 2012, Smith used an outside move to take the checkers 0.144 seconds ahead of Pursley, the series points leader.
Quotable: "I don't know what to say really, I didn't even know it was the last lap. I didn't see the white flag. ... they said, 'Hey, it's over boys, that was the checkered,' " Smith said in victory lane. "Johnny raced me clean there. He tried to protect the bottom there at the end like he needed to. He led the whole race, but he gave me room when he saw me up there. Man, I'm just tickled to death, its been a long time since we've won a Super (Late Model) race."
Key notes: Jeff Smith's last series victory came Oct. 6, 2012, also at Lancaster. ... Smith has 28 career Carolina Clash victories, third on the all-time series list behind Dennis Franklin and Ricky Weeks. ... Smith is the eighth series winner of 2016. ... Pursley, who led 39 of 40 laps, had won all three Carolina Clash events in August and had a four-race victory streak overall entering the event. ... Pursley, like Smith, also said he didn't see the white flag. ... Outside front-row starter Chris Ferguson had a flat tire on the second lap. ... Seven drivers completed 40 laps at Lancaster.
On the move: Anthony Sanders of Spartanburg, S.C., rallied from 18th to finish sixth.
Winner's sponsors: The winning RGC Racing Rocket Chassis has a Hatfield Racing Engine and sponsorship from DirtWrap, Lake Norman Motors, Plexus, Banks Brokerage and J&J Race Cars.
Points chase: Entering the event, Pursley led the standings with 1,059 points over Ross Bailes (995).
Car count: 18
Polesitter: Johnny Pursley
Heat race winners: Jeff Smith, Ben Watkins
Next series race: September 4, Cherokee Speedway (Gaffney, SC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Pursley, Ferguson
Row 2: Bailes, Langley
Row 3: J. Smith, Watkins
Row 4: Edwards, D. Sanders
Row 5: Hicks, McNamara
Row 6: Mitchell, Huey
Row 7: Mullis, Rominger
Row 8: Yandle, Cochran
Row 9: Taylor, A. Sanders

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy PolicyCookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information