Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/25/2022 18:59:36

Sponsor 743
August 27
Magnolia Motor Speedway,
Columbus, MS
Sanction: Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series - $2,500
Information provided by: Series and team reports (last updated August 29, 10:05 pm)
Cooley grabs first-ever MSCCS victory at Magnolia
  1. Eric Cooley
  2. Dane Dacus
  3. Jimmy Cliburn
  4. Dylan Ames
  5. Jason Hiett
  6. Chad Thrash
  7. Austin Kirkpatrick
  8. Allen Tippen
  9. Brian Rickman
  10. David Breazeale
  11. Garrett Alberson
  12. Rick Rickman
  13. B.J. Robinson
  14. Josh Adkins
  15. Dean Carpenter
  16. Brett White
  17. Clay Fisher
  18. Jamie Tollison
  19. Kody Barber
  20. Chris Brown
  21. Ray McElhiney
  22. Mark Dodson
presented by
Chris McDill
Eric Cooley climbs out in victory lane for the first time with MSCCS.
What won the race: Dash winner Eric Cooley of Fulton, Miss., went on to capture Saturday's Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series feature at Magnolia Motor Speedway. He finished 1.069 seconds ahead of runner-up Dane Dacus in scoring his first career MSCCS victory.
Quotable: “This win has been a long-time coming,” Cooley said. “I feel like I’ve finished second more than a hundred times with the State Series, but I’ve never been able to seal the deal until tonight. It feels so good. I can’t thank God and my crew enough!”
Key notes: Cooley started on the pole but slipped back to third before coming alive on a restart, taking the lead on lap 22. ... Cooley dedicated the victory to one of his car owners, Tonya Bryson, whose mother died the previous night. ... Texan Chris Brown was black-flagged after an incident on lap 21. ... The event was a makeup from an April 16 rainout.
Winner's sponsors: Cooley's Barry Wright Race Car is powered by a Jeff Burns Race Engine and is sponsored by 78 Towing & Recovery, Cooley Transport Inc., Eric Cooley Trucking, Bryson Motorsports, Fleetco Inc., DJ Transportation and Rhino Wraps.
Points chase: Entering the event, Brian Rickman led the standings (1,225) over Rick Rickman (1,190) and Bub McCool (1,095).
Car count: 36
Fast qualifier: Jimmy Cliburn
Time: 13.904 seconds
Dash winner: Eric Cooley
Consolation race winners: Chris Brown, Josh Adkins, Chad Thrash
Next series race: September 10, Jackson Motor Speedway (Byram, MS) $2,500
Editor's note: Corrects Jimmy Cliburn as third-place finisher.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728