Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1235
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 20:24:56

Sponsor 743
August 8
300 Raceway,
Farley, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Monday Mayhem) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 9, 1:26 pm)
Chris Simpson grabs $10,000 victory at Farley
Monday Mayhem
  1. Chris Simpson
  2. Ryan Gustin
  3. Tyler Erb
  4. Jason Rauen
  5. Mason Zeigler
  6. Tyler Bruening
  7. Terry Phillips
  8. Dave Eckrich
  9. Joel Callahan
  10. Spencer Diercks
  11. Brantlee Gotschall
  12. Jay Johnson
  13. Justin Kay
  14. Jesse Stovall
  15. J.C. Wyman
  16. Brent Larson
  17. Mike Fryer
  18. Tony Jackson Jr.
  19. Jon Mitchell
  20. Jason Papich
  21. Tad Pospisil
presented by
Lloyd Collins/fasttrackphotos.net
Chris Simpson's family enjoys victory lane at Farley Speedway.
What won the race: Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, survived a lead-swapping duel with Jesse Stovall, then stayed clear of hard-charging Ryan Gustin for an Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory at Farley Speedway. Simpson won the Monday Mayhem event by 0.421 seconds, his third MLRA victory of the season and seventh of his career.
Quotable: "It's been a long month," Simpson said. "We've run good and we've won races and then we've run in the back. It was a complete different setup (tonight) than what we usually run. It's cool to get $10,000 here tonight."
Key notes: Simpson has won three of five MLRA events in Iowa in 2016. ... Jesse Stovall retired with an oil leak after leading a dozen laps. ... Outside front-row starter Jason Papich got sideways exiting turn two on the first lap, triggering a scramble that involved several other drivers. ... Nick Marolf won the night's IMCA Late Model feature.
On the move: Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, started 14th and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Chris Simpson's Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Five Star Shop and Service, Cheap Cars, Advanced Machine and Tool, Chase Decals, Simpson Farms, Eibach Springs and Bill Bryant Trucking.
Points chase: After Farley, Jesse Stovall holds a 68-point lead on Terry Phillips.
Car count: 28
Polesitter: Mason Zeigler
Heat race winners: Jason Papich, Jesse Stovall, Dave Eckrich
Consolation race winners: Brantlee Gotschall
Next series race: August 9, West Liberty Raceway (West Liberty, IA) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
From RacinDirt.com and series reports

FARLEY, Iowa — Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, survived some literal Monday Mayhem at Farley Speedway for a $10,000 victory in the aptly named Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association event.

Simpson slipped past first-lap calamity, edged away from a lead-swapping duel with Jesse Stovall, then turned back late challenges from hard-charging Ryan Gustin to capture his third MLRA victory of the season and seventh of his career.

"It's been a long month,” said the 32-year-old driver. “We’ve run good and we've won races and then we've run in the back. It was a complete different setup (tonight) than what we usually run. It's cool to get $10,000 here tonight.”

The sixth-starting Simpson first took the lead from Stovall on the 17th lap, but didn’t grab the top spot for good until near the halfway point as he matched his richest career payday.

"I just kept the car straight and tried not to bend it as much as Stovall was, up there on that cushion," Simpson said. “I felt like I had a better car than him the whole race, it just took a little while for us to get going.”

Gustin, the Marshalltown, Iowa, driver who rallied from his seventh-row starting spot, finished second with Tyler Erb of New Waverly, Texas, in third. Hometown driver Jason Rauen and polesitter Mason Zeigler of Chalk Hill, Pa., rounded out the top five while Stovall, of Billings, MO., dropped out in the second half of the race with an oil leak, finishing 14th.

"We'll take it starting 14th,” Gustin said. “Chris did a good job, he's been around this place a lot, so second to him here ain't bad. Hopefully we can get one here tomorrow (at Farley’s sister track, West Liberty Raceway).”

Gustin, who broke into the top five in the first half of the race, closed within striking distance of Simpson in the final laps, but the winner slid past the slower car of Jay Johnson, completing the pass with a bold move in turn three to get a little breathing room.

“I figured (Gustin) was coming because I kept getting dirty air there in (turns) three and four, and I kept shoving the nose up off of four a little bit,” Simpson said, recalling the moment he went past Johnson. “I had to do it. It was the winning move and it could’ve been the losing move. I went in there and I must’ve bent something on the right-rear … I’m just glad we hung on. I didn’t want any more laps.”

Simpson was nearly caught up in the biggest mess of the race on the first lap when outside front-row  starter Jason Papich got sideways exiting turn two. While Simpson narrowly slipped around the outside, Papich’s car suffered heavy damage in collecting Dave Eckrich and Brent Larson with Tad Pospisil and several other drivers also getting a piece of the action.

A complete restart was required and Zeigler, making his first MLRA start, grabbed the lead at the outset and led the first nine laps before Stovall’s groove-swapping move put him out front on lap 10. Simpson followed Stovall past Zeigler amid the three-wide battle for the lead, and while Simpson led lap 17, Stovall quickly went back ahead.

Simpson again edged ahead before halfway, prior to a caution for Larson’s smoking car, and looked to take control of the race amid three mid-race yellows as Gustin began to come alive. Gustin slid in front of Stovall to take second on the 34th lap while Stovall’s car began showing smoke.

Gustin eventually tracked down Simpson, but the winner maneuvered lapped traffic late to find his way to the checkers first, less than a half-second ahead of Gustin.

The race was the first of five in six days for MLRA competitors who head to West Liberty on Tuesday and Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minn., on Wednesday. After a day off, a doubleheader weekend is set for Friday and Saturday at Junction Motor Speedway in McCool Junction, Neb.

Notes: Simpson’s three MLRA victories have all come in his home state. He previously won at Davenport Speedway and Lee County Speedway in Donnellson. … Reigning MLRA champion Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., was running fourth when he ducked to the pits on the mid-race caution. He came back to finish seventh and chop 10 points off Jesse Stovall’s MLRA points lead. … Top-five finishers Tyler Erb and Mason Zeigler were competing after two weekends of Midwest action on the World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series. … Billy Moyer scratched from the consolation race after an incident in his heat.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Zeigler, Papich
Row 2: Stovall, Eckrich
Row 3: Phillips, Simpson
Row 4: Erb, Kay
Row 5: Wyman, Bruening
Row 6: Rauen, Larson
Row 7: Jackson, Gustin
Row 8: Posposil, Mitchell
Row 9: Gotschall, Diercks
Row 10: Callahan, Fryer
Row 11: Siebert, Johnson

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728