Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 06:34:50

Sponsor 743
August 6
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Stick Elliott Memorial) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series and team reports (last updated August 8, 11:56 am)
Pursley wins Cherokee's Stick Elliott Memorial
Stick Elliott Memorial
  1. Johnny Pursley
  2. Chris Ferguson
  3. Brett Hamm
  4. Anthony Sanders
  5. Josh Langley
  6. Doug Smith
  7. Jeff Smith
  8. Ross Bailes
  9. Kelly Guy
  10. Tim Allen
  11. Scott Shirey
  12. Brent Dixon
  13. Josh Richeson
  14. Greg Clark
  15. Timbo Mangum
  16. Mike Huey
  17. Douglas Davis
  18. Billy Lambert
presented by
Zack Kloosterman/ZSK Photography
Johnny Pursley emerges after his first Carolina Clash victory since 2013.
What won the race: Second-starting Johnny Pursley of Clover, S.C., topped fourth-starting Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., by 1.507 seconds in the Stick Elliott Memorial at Cherokee Speedway. Pursley collected $4,000 for his seventh career Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series triumph.
Quotable: “Wow, what a bounce back this was for our team after the hard crash at Swainsboro a few weeks ago that destroyed our car,” Pursley said. “I’ve got to give so much credit to my family, my team, and my sponsors for helping me get back on track and right back to the front. This win is for them.”
Key notes: Pursley earned his first series victory of the season; his previous Clash victory came in the 2013 finale at Fayetteville, N.C. ... Five of the 18 starters finished on the lead lap. ... Steve Banal scratched from the feature. ... Cherokee is also voting for this year's Hall of Fame inductees. Visit the track's Facebook page for more information.
On the move: Sixth-place finisher Jeff Smith started 12th.
Winner's sponsors: Pursley's Clements-powered Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Twin Oaks Racing, Eagle Manufacturing, Farmers Service Center, Pursley Grading and White Horse Limited.
Points chase: Leaving Cherokee, Johnny Pursley extended his series lead; he's got 854 points to lead Ross Bailes (814).
Car count: 19
Fast qualifier: Brett Hamm
Time: 15.067 seconds
Polesitter: Brett Hamm
Heat race winners: Josh Langley, Kelly Guy
Next series race: August 9, Carolina Speedway (Gastonia, NC) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728