Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 18:45:15

Sponsor 743
August 2
Cedar County Raceway,
Tipton, IA
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series - $2,000
Information provided by: Jeremiah Davis of The Gazette and series reports (last updated August 3, 1:10 pm)
Kay maintains Deery stranglehold on Cedar County
  1. Justin Kay
  2. Kevin Kile
  3. Cayden Carter
  4. Luke Merfeld
  5. Ryan Dolan
  6. Joel Callahan
  7. Tyler Bruening
  8. Matt Ryan
  9. Joe Zrostlik
  10. Andy Eckrich
  11. Tyler Droste
  12. Scott Fitzpatrick
  13. Rob Toland
  14. Jeff Aikey
  15. Andy Nezworski
  16. Kyle Hinrichs
  17. Chad Holladay
  18. Darrel DeFrance
  19. Eric Pollard
  20. Ryan Claeys
  21. John Emerson
  22. Jonathan Brauns
  23. Jake Meier
  24. Dan Shelliam
presented by
John Vass
Justin Kay heads for his second Deery Brothers victory of 2016.
What won the race: Reigning series champion Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, overtook Kevin Kile on the 19th lap and pulled away late for his third Deery Brothers Summer Series victory in as many years at Cedar County Raceway. The fifth-starting Kay earned $2,000 in the caution-free main event, winning by more than a straightaway.
Quotable: “We’ve always run really well at Tipton. It’s probably one of the tracks I have the most laps on, too. Everything about that track I love. It’s always slick and smooth," said Kay, who competed at the track in four-cylinders early in his career. “I ran the bottom and when I moved up to get around lapped cars it was good there, too. I think I used about every inch of the track.”
Key notes: Cayden Carter led early from outside the front row before Kevin Kile went by. ... The Deery Brothers Summer Series made its lone season visit to Cedar County. ... The IMCA Hawkeye Modified tour was also be on the card with Corey Dripps grabbing the victory.
Winner's sponsors: Kay's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by ASi Racewear, Gheer'd Up Race Cars, Hoker Trucking and Petersen Insurance.
Points chase: Seventh-finishing Tyler Bruening edged into the series points lead by one over Jeff Aikey, who started with a provisional and finished 14th.
Car count: 26
Polesitter: Joel Callahan
Heat race winners: Luke Merfeld, Ryan Dolan, Scott Fitzpatrick
Consolation race winners: Matt Ryan
Provisional starters: Jeff Aikey, Ryan Claeys
Next series race: August 16, Dubuque Speedway (Dubuque, IA) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728