Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1235
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 07:00:28

Sponsor 743
July 30
Tazewell Speedway,
Tazewell, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Southern Nationals - $10,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen and series reports (last updated August 1, 3:46 pm)
Bloomquist rules Tazewell; Gilpin gets title
  1. Scott Bloomquist
  2. Craig Vosbergen
  3. Devin Gilpin
  4. Vic Hill
  5. Jeff Wolfenbarger
  6. Donald McIntosh
  7. Chad Ogle
  8. Shanon Buckingham
  9. Tommy Bailey
  10. Robby Moses
  11. Dakotah Knuckles
  12. Brian Smith
  13. David Payne
  14. Stacy Boles
  15. Ricky Weiss
  16. Kenny Cobble
  17. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  18. Josh Collins
  19. Doug Smith
  20. Travis Fultz
  21. Jordon Horton
  22. Billy Ogle Jr.
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracing.net
Devin Gilpin's Jim Beeman-owned team celebrates the series title.
What won the race: Polesitter Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., led flag-to-flag to capture his first career Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals victory at Tazewell Speedway. He earned a $10,000 payday in the series season finale while third-finishing Devin Gilpin of Columbus, Ind., wrapped up his first Late Model series title.
Quotable: "I really had a good time coming down to all these racetracks," Gilpin said, thanking team owner Jim Beeman, crew member and sponsors. "I feel like it's going to make way versatile when we go home, and I feel like as a team we all grew and learned a lot."
Key notes: Bloomquist earned his second double-digit payday at Tazewell on the 2016 season; he was the winner of the June 3 Lucas Oil Series event at the Tennessee oval. ... Just one of this year's eight Southern Nationals race winners (Dennis Franklin) had entered the 2016 season with a series victory. (Dale McDowell won twice.) ... Ivedent Lloyd Jr. drew a caution on lap 13 when he slowed on the racetrack. ... A yellow flag waved for the smoking car of Ricky Weiss on lap 19. ... Tazewell hosted Southern Nationals finale for the 12th straight season.
On the move: Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., advanced from the 12th starting spot to run sixth.
Winner's sponsors: The winning Sweet-Bloomquist Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and is sponsored by Reece Monuments, Mark Martin Automotive, Crop Production Services, Dyna-Gro, Allstar Performance, Sorbera Chiropractic, Horton Oil, Base Race Fuels, Hawkeye Trucking, Hoosier Racing Tire, Ole Smoky Moonshine and Sweet Manufacturing.
Points chase: With his third-place finish, Devin Gilpin of Columbus, Ind., clinched the 2016 Southern Nationals title.
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Scott Bloomquist
Time: 10.983 seconds
Polesitter: Scott Bloomquist
Heat race winners: Scott Bloomquist, Ricky Weiss, Craig Vosbergen, Devin Gilpin
Editor's note: Corrects Dennis Franklin as previous series winner.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Bloomquist, Vosbergen
Row 2: Weiss, Gilpin
Row 3: Payne, Lloyd
Row 4: Hill, Wolfenbarger
Row 5: Boles, C. Ogle
Row 6: Moses, McIntosh
Row 7: Bailey, Buckingham
Row 8: Knuckles, B. Smith
Row 9: Cobble, Collins
Row 10: Horton, Fultz
Row 11: B. Ogle, Crabtree
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728