Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/18/2020 17:43:41

Sponsor 743
July 29
Attica Raceway Park,
Attica, OH
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series - $2,000
Information provided by: Brian Liskai (last updated July 30, 10:24 pm)
Markham's first ALMS win comes at Attica
  1. Ryan Markham
  2. Rich Bell
  3. Dave Hornikel
  4. Devin Shiels
  5. Matt Miller
  6. Rusty Schlenk
  7. Ken Hahn
  8. Rick Bond
  9. Rob Anderzack
  10. Cody Scott
  11. Mike Bores
  12. Larry Bellman
  13. Casey Noonan
  14. Drew Smith
  15. Matt Irey
  16. Brandon Perkins
  17. Mathew Chapman
  18. John Mayes Jr.
  19. Ky Harper
  20. Jonathan Henry
  21. Kent Brewer
presented by
Jim Collum/Action Photos
Ryan Markham takes the checkers in his first ALMS victory.
What won the race: Taking the lead when Matt Irey got into the frontstretch wall with six laps left, fifth-starting Ryan Markham of Ashland, Ohio, registered his first career Sunoco American Late Model Series victory Friday at Attica Raceway Park. Markham took the checkers ahead of Rich Bell by 1.130 seconds to secure the $2,000 top prize and his ninth career Attica victory.
Quotable: “About midrace there I packed the right rear wheel full of mud and it was vibrating bad. I thought it was going to break the wheel right off the car. Matt kind of got away from me there for a little bit and it must have spread the mud out enough to balance it enough that I could keep going and I started charging again," Markham said. "Then Matt had some trouble there ... I hate to see that happen ... I think I had a car that we could race with him."
Key notes: The feature was slowed by three cautions. ... Jon Henry retired on lap 12 while running in the top five. ... The tour made its final Attica stop of the season.
On the move: Matt Miller of Whitehouse, Ohio, advanced from 15th to finish fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Markham's Swartz Race Cars is sponsored by Cool It Thermo, H&T Demolition and Harriger Towing.
Points chase: Heading into the weekend, Rusty Schlenk of McClure, Ohio, led ALMS points at 554 followed by Rich Bell (464) and Ryan Unzicker (359).
Car count: 28
Polesitter: Devin Shiels
Heat race winners: Rich Bell, Matt Irey, Jonathan Henry, Devin Shiels
Consolation race winners: John Mayes Jr.
Next series race: August 13, Fairbury American Legion Speedway (Fairbury, IL) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728